1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tales of the Abyss - Multiplayer Import Issue?

Discussion in 'PS2 - Software boot discussion' started by PalStrang, Jun 26, 2007.

  1. PalStrang

    PalStrang Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hello,

    I've been searching for an answer to this for some time now. Essentially, having imported TotA from the US, it successfully runs on an ordinary PS2 using SwapMagic. However, no matter what I have tried, it fails to allow 4-player mode. Is there something in the way that SM boots the game that would cause it not to recognise the multitap? Two controllers plugged in normally works, but 1 and a multitap does not. Any thoughts dear forum?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Z3120

    Z3120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Excuse me kind sir but did you bother setting each character to manual before you had problems getting the multi-tap to work? You said the 2 controllers plugged in works, but you said that as an indicator that your controller ports were working and operational, right? If this is your first PS2 Tales of game, then you need to set it to semi-auto or manual if you want another person using another controller to play also.
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2007
  3. PalStrang

    PalStrang Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sorry, maybe I should have written everything a little more exhaustively. You see, to start with we thought it was an auto/manual issue, since you don't get manual immediately in the game. However, when we got to the point we could set to manual, and did so, characters 2-4 did not respond (plugged into ports 2A, 2B, 2C as indicated in the manual). We tested the multitap on another game to check it worked. We tried all combinations of connections with it and the 2 PS2 ports. For port 1, only directly connecting a controller, or putting only 1 controller through a multitap, worked. No more. For port 2, only directly connecting a controller worked, nothing else at all.
     
  4. Z3120

    Z3120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Are you using the standard PS2 multi-tap or a 3rd party peripheral multi-tap instead? 4 players should work as I've seen a video or two of someone doing so when playing Tales of the Abyss. It could very well be the multi-tap depending on what brand I suppose.
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2007
  5. PalStrang

    PalStrang Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I did wonder that as it's a third party multitap. It's worked with all other games however. I was hoping someone might know how the SwapMagic boot works so I would know if I needed to get an official multitap.
     
  6. Z3120

    Z3120 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It's up to you to make that investment. It sounds more like an incompatibility with the game using that 3rd-party multi-tap than anything else right now although I could be wrong.
     
  7. lle004

    lle004 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I don't know about other 3rd party multitaps, but I bought a gamestop multitap and it works with TotA but you have to hook it up in a different way. Instead of plugging the multitap in the 1st player slot plug it in the second player slot and make sure it's all the way in. Plug the 3 other controllers in the 1st-3rd slot on the multitap. Plug the first player controller in the first slot where the multitap is not. Also plug in your memory card in the original area, not in the multitap. The gamestop multitap works with other games but not with this one unless you plug it in this way for some reason. Hope this helps any.
     

Share This Page