1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The DVD Struggle/hack

Discussion in 'DVD2One forum' started by djamable, Oct 16, 2003.

  1. djamable

    djamable Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I use Nerovision or DVDLab To create Backups of my DVD´s. But when i play the burned Cd. The screen start to hack, and jumps, and flips. The same error you can get with burned VSVCD´s. Why is that? Do i need to update something. Or change the settings?
     
  2. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    You refer to backing them up onto CD! What method and what format are they in?
     
  3. djamable

    djamable Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I use first a real DVD.
    Then i use DVDShrink or DVd2one.
    And i always got the same problem.
    I burn the DVD to DVD but the picture is hacking..struggeling ..stops.. and jump 10 minutes forward..?
     
  4. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ok, by how much are you compressing it when using DVD Shrink?
     
  5. djamable

    djamable Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I use the compression wich is needed for the DVd to fit 4.7Gb. Diffrent all times!
     
  6. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Are yuo compressing by a lot though - say more than 30% most of the times?
     
  7. djamable

    djamable Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yes? About 40% you know from 9GB to 4.7.
     
  8. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    That may well be your problem. I never like to go over 10% compression even with Deep Analysis. You could try one of two things. You could recode it with TMPGEnc (bit of hassle) or you could split it to two discs. Thats what i did with LOTR after stripping the extras and credits and even sound files out with DVD SHrink
     
  9. djamable

    djamable Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hmm! And if i got a .avi file. ON 700Mb and i got the same problem? i dont compress it at all!! ?
     
  10. Wild0ne

    Wild0ne Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Owwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww AVI ? YUCK - same for vcd and svcd - tried it once - took me hours to do and the quality was like a pirated VHS from Jakarta - it even had Indonesian subtitles - go figure :)
     
  11. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Well, with avi its different. You would be best encode it to DivX or another mpeg4 file type like Xvid for a better picture.
     
  12. Bodene

    Bodene Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Oriphus, just wondering why you felt u had to split LOTR into 2 disks. Was the picture quality horrible on your first try? Just curious, cuz I compressed (DVD2One) both 3 hour movies and both had great picture and sound quality. Perhaps the equipment u view them on is better than mine, so degraded quality may show up more on yers. I'm just trying to do what I can to avoid using 2 disks, while learning any tricks u may wish to share. I shant fib, DVD Shrink intimidates the shit out of me.
     
  13. Wild0ne

    Wild0ne Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Same here - did both Lord or Rings on 1 disk each, no discernable difference.
    Only one I have had to do on 2 discs is Pulp Fiction - didnt like any compression at all.
     
  14. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    LOTR - Fellowship I left as 2 discs , which is how the extended edition came [extra 25 mins or so of footage]

    (just thought I'd add that , it has no relevance of course)!! ; )

     
  15. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Picture quality was terrible yeah, especially on a 60" screen
     

Share This Page