1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Official Cooling Thread!

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by mastaprk, Apr 17, 2004.

  1. mastaprk

    mastaprk Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have a Sapphire ATI Radeon 9600XT 256MB DDR AGP 8X and it works great with everything except when I try to play Warcraft 3: Frozen Throne. It will lock up everything after about 10 minutes into play and I will have to restart the PC. I have the latest updates from ATI's website and the other graphics cards I have tried have worked fine w/ the game in the past. Am I missing something, is this a common or known problem? Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. Franch1se

    Franch1se Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    it sounds to me like its your graphics card over heating. As its a pretty good card it gets very hot so you either need to invest in some better ventalation (aka fans :D) or try taking the side off your case
     
  3. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    The 'problem' with the overheating scenario is... why would it overheat? Playing UT2Kx or even CnC Generals I can see overheating but WCIII?, the game's graphics arent THAT stellar to even cause a major problem for GF4MX cards let alone something powerful like the 9600XT. Might wanna get that fan looked-into/replaced. :D
     
  4. mastaprk

    mastaprk Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Since I purchased this card in January, I am able to do a RMA return for repair. Is there any way to be sure that this is the problem? I can see if it shuts off w/ UT2003 or w/ Rainbow Six Raven Shied. Also, what would be a good way to keep the temp lower inside the case, I have two large case fans currently inside. I am considering the Enermax Whispersys System Exhaust Blower (Slot fan), Model "WS-8SLFS" but I am not sure if this is any good or if there is a better one out. Also, what is a good program to check on the temperature? Thx for the help.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]PC:
    Windows XP Pro SP1
    AMD Athlon XP 2000+
    1024MB Centon DDR PC2700
    Pioneer A06
    Main software: DVD Shrink, DVD Decrypter & Nero 6
    ATI Radeon All-in-Wonder 128
    160GB HD

    PS2 version 4 w/ Flip Top:
    Swap Magic Version 2.0
    Ritek G04 & Piodata DVD-R[/small]
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2004
  5. Xian

    Xian Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    956
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You would be surprised at some of the games that cause a heat increase when they are really lower spec games. I have Motherboard Monitor installed on all my PCs. I would install it and see what it says your temps are. Ctrl+Tab back to the desktop after you have been running WC3 for a while and see how much the temp has went up from idle.
    http://mbm.livewiredev.com/
    What was surprising to me is that it showed a 30F/20C temperature increase when my kid was playing Diablo 2, another Blizzard title. It only has 2d graphics and really doesn't need a very high end pc at all but for some reason it really shoots the processor temperature up. Shanghai Dynasty, one my 3 yr old likes to play shoots the temps up by about the same factor. It's just a Mahjong tile matching game, nothing fancy at all. The same PC only rises about 15F/10C playing UT 2004 or Halo which you would expect to really tax the processor. The only thing I can think of is that it must be something in the programming of some programs that really create a load on the processor for some reason. I have a good Cooler Master heatsink/fan. The same temperature increase for those programs happens on the other PCs I have too.
     
  6. mastaprk

    mastaprk Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I got MBM 5, but I am not sure how to get it to show the graphics board temp. It now shows 136F for the CPU, -54F for the case & for sensor 3 its 32F. How is the case -54F? Also, is there a way to check the temp. of the graphics board? Thx for the help.
     
  7. Xian

    Xian Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    956
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I don't know of a program that tests the graphic card's temperature, but 136F/57C processor temp is pretty hot if you are just sitting idle with only a browser running - mine only ever gets that high when I am running something that really uses the processor. Normal idle temp for me is right at 100F, my kids pc is right at 110F since he has a steel case instead of aluminum. I suggested MBM to see if it was perhaps the processor temp instead of the graphic card locking you up. The other sensors with the strange readings more than likely mean that nothing is connected to them.
     
  8. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    1. Ya 57°C is bloody hot for "sitting there". My Palomino systems will "chill" at 56°C running video
    operations in the summer (and im a student --> too poor for A/C)

    2. Not sure about the ATI cards, but dont they come with temperature sensors like nVidia ones do?

    3. The -56°F for the case just prolly means that (a) the sensor is fukt or (b) its not actually connected so its essentially showing the lowest possible temperature it can measure

    4. I can reccomend some fans but I think your preference for sheer CFM versus Decible might not be similar to mine (the volume helps me not-sleep which is almost as good as helping me stay awake).

    SUPER NICE, ULTRA LOUD
    Vantec 80MM Tornado, http://www.xoxide.com/vantorfan.html
    Aerocool 80MM Terminator http://www.xoxide.com/xblaster.html
    Sunon 120MM http://www.xoxide.com/120mmsunonfan.html

    MIDRANGE, BALANCE
    Panaflo 120MM Stealth http://www.xoxide.com/12paulqufan.html
    Thermaltake 120MM Variable http://www.xoxide.com/ther12casfan.html
    Themaltake 80MM Smart Fan , http://www.xoxide.com/smartfan.html
    Thermaltake 92MM http://www.xoxide.com/ther92casfan.html
    Sunon 92MM http://www.xoxide.com/92sunbalbear.html
    Thermaltake 80MM Smartfan II http://www.xoxide.com/thersmarfani.html

    SILENT
    Aerocool 80MM X-Static http://www.xoxide.com/xstatic.html
    NMB 80MM http://www.xoxide.com/nmbsil80fan.html
    Vantec 80MM Stealth http://www.xoxide.com/80vanstealfa.html

    Personally I'm running:
    - Four Vantec 80MM Tornados (2 x side and back, and one as intake)
    - A Sunon 92MM (the high performance one), (top)
    - 3 Vantec Stealth Fans (included in the Vantec Stealth PSU)
    - A Thermaltake 80MM Smartfan (back)
    - Some really badass Panaflo/Sunon (cant tell) 120MM fan (Monitor)
    - Volcano 9+ on the CPU (wanting to upgrade to the Silentboost Volcano12)
    - In the summer when its really hot (and I dont have AC), I open the case and point one of these monsters at the computer (and me) http://www.canadiantire.ca/assortme...348027&bmUID=1082505931231&assortment=primary
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]ASUS A7V8X-X, AMD2500+
    Samsung 1024MB, PC2700
    480GB [3x160GB, 7200, 8MB]
    MSI Starforce, GeForce4 Ti4400 128MB

    Rules and Policies: http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/2487
    AFTERDAWN IRC: irc.addictz.net, #ad_buddies
    COME SAY HI![/small]
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2004
  9. mastaprk

    mastaprk Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    How the hell do you get all of those fans in there? I don't have any extra fan slots on my case, so I was thinking about the PCI slot fan. When just surfing the net & checking email, the CPU temp is right around 56c & whenever I play WC3: Frozen Throne, it gets to right around 65c & then the PC freezes up. I am thinking that the video card is fine & maybe the temp is a problem. Any recommendations for cooling would be greatly appreciated.
     
  10. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Definitely a temp problem. If you don't have any extra fan slots I'd suggest getting the highest cfm fans you can find to replace your existing fans - anything to move more air!

    I've got two 80mm pulling in on the front, a 120mm on the side panel blowing right on the vid card, an 80mm blowing out the rear and an 80mm blowhole up top along with the psu pulling air out the rear. It isn't exactly quiet but I listen to music constantly anyway so it's a moot point to me :)

    If you let the heat issue go on too long you risk shortening your components life span at best and outright killing them at worst.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small][​IMG][/small]
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2004
  11. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Oh right i knew i forgot some fans....

    - Ive stripped the fans off these and just attatched them to whereever Ive got holes in my case:
    [​IMG]
    - Got a PCI slot cooler too http://www.xoxide.com/slotcooler.html
    - Most of the fans are run through a pair of Nexus 201's http://www.xoxide.com/nexfanconnxb.html

    I started cutting and drilling.

    Now that we're on the topic of fans.... a quick little survey/poll: for your side fans, do you blow-in or vent-out? (I vent out)

    - Running 56°C isnt bad for a Palomino like u've got ... it could be cooler... what HSF are you running .... seems like stock cooler? Might I reccommend either http://www.thermaltake.com/coolers/volcano/rs/a1745.htm or http://www.thermaltake.com/coolers/volcano/rs/a1889a.htm or http://www.thermaltake.com/coolers/volcano/rs/a1889b.htm (<< fan of Thermaltake, no pun intended :p)
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]ASUS A7V8X-X, AMD2500+
    Samsung 1024MB, PC2700
    480GB [3x160GB, 7200, 8MB]
    MSI Starforce, GeForce4 Ti4400 128MB

    Rules and Policies: http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/2487
    AFTERDAWN IRC: irc.addictz.net, #ad_buddies
    COME SAY HI![/small]
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2004
  12. Vular

    Vular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I knew you would probably have a lot of cooling for your system Nephilim seeing that you are in Phoenix.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]This Is No Ice Cream Social![/small]
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2004
  13. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Heeheee Nephilim... all those fans.... circulating hot Phoenix air .... heehee.... damn uve got A/C dont you? (*jealous*) :p
     
  14. bird1234

    bird1234 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    My buddy the same card as you, and it runs hotter than h@ll. Any vid card nowadays need aftermarket cooling. Also to agree with lot of them, you CPU is too hot to handle. Time for a cooling upgrade for your whole system.

    Praetor, what kind of PSU you got in your system? I thought i was bad with all my air cooling, but you got my @ss kicked. I grant you I only have an entry-level server tower with 5 spots for fans. I don't use them all cause i would get to much dust in the case.
     
  15. mastaprk

    mastaprk Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Okay I have added an additional fan to the front of the case (had a slot, I guess I never paid attention to that). I have a Chieftech aluminum case, so what is recommended for the fans? I have one in front and one in back blowing in and the other fan in the back blowing out. Is there a better way to set this up? Thx for all of the input!
     
  16. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Yes! Pull air in from the front and blow it all out the back/top. The "outie" in the back is probably sucking out all the air that the "innie" in the back is sucking in without even circulating through your case!

    In the front and out the back :) The key is to keep a constant "one-way" flow of fresh air going through your case.
     
  17. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    You better believe it! The big pisser right now is the evaporator core for the a/c in my '96 Dakota took a dump and the quote to fix it is $700! During the summer it's nothing for a vehicle to top 140F inside when it's been sitting in the sun :O
     
  18. Vular

    Vular Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You can cook a turkey in their, lol. Mmmm...turkey
     
  19. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    bird1234: the PSU is a Vantec Stealth 420W ... POS really.... Im quite dissapointed with the damn thing. You see, I run a powerbox to plug my tower, CRT and half a dozen things into it.... that power box stays ON all the time... If and when i turn my tower off (i.e., shutdown), i gotta go around and turn the PSU off too or lo and behold, the next time i wanna turn the machine on.... i cant.... i gotta turn the PSU *completely* off for some fandangled "saftey" reason. ARGH! I take it Vantec naver took into acount that some people dont mind being electrocuted.... it wakes ya up for class at least :p

    The 3 fans in the PSU are real nice but they certainly DONT do the job of coooling shit (including the PSU itself) :p Gonna switch over to another PSU when i finally get around to puttin in the peltier.

    mastaprk: you could say screw all that, get yourself that "flower" heatsink and open the case up and point one of these babies at it :p
    [​IMG]
    -- you'd be surprised how effective those damn things are :p
    _

    Ya dust is a big prob, well it used to be... now i take my tower apart down to the screws and jumpers and clean 'er once every two weeks (hehe gives a lot of "personal time" between me and my machine.... crap did i say that out loud?) :p
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]ASUS A7V8X-X, AMD2500+
    Samsung 1024MB, PC2700
    480GB [3x160GB, 7200, 8MB]
    MSI Starforce, GeForce4 Ti4400 128MB

    Rules and Policies: http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/2487
    AFTERDAWN IRC: irc.addictz.net, #ad_buddies
    COME SAY HI![/small]
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2004
  20. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Praetor,

    Has your PSU always done that? I've the same one (Vantec Stealth 420) and no weird power up/down problems.

    I've been looking very hard at this one from PC Power & Cooling - the thing is built like a tank inside. 5 year warranty says a lot too.

    http://www.pcpowercooling.com/pdf/Turbo-Cool_510_vs.pdf

     

Share This Page