1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Official OC (OverClocking) Thread!

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by Praetor, May 1, 2004.

  1. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,319
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Lol, I love when afterdawn turns random words into links to products/technologies when they're never going to be used in such cases...
    The first thing MAN springs to mind in my head is Maschinenfabrik Augsburg-N├╝rnberg. Guess that shows my background...
     
  2. omegaman7

    omegaman7 Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,219
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Yah, I usually ignore such links. Unless it's REALLY in my face LOL!
     
  3. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    38,899
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    128
    spammer got spammed.
     
  4. theonejrs

    theonejrs Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    7,970
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Oman7,

    41-42C for the motherboard temps, is about it for x264 encoding. Normally the motherboard runs 37-38C anyway, but I've never seen it go over 42-43C yet, even stress testing.

    Russ
     
  5. omegaman7

    omegaman7 Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,219
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Much more agreeable temps. What's your NB voltage at? Mmm, I see you've lowered your overclock.
     
  6. theonejrs

    theonejrs Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    7,970
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Oman7,

    1.30v. I dropped it down to 3.7, so if something happens to me, it will be reliable for Russell! He wouldn't know how to change any of those settings. I could probably drop the NB voltage to 1.20v, and I may do that! 87,000+ MIPS will do just fine! Got the HD4670 card installed in it and a fresh install of XP-Pro SP3. it's good to go!

    Russ
     
  7. omegaman7

    omegaman7 Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,219
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Pretty sure mine is also at 1.30V. Clearly something needs to be done about the heatsink cooling. I'm not into doing that right now. I'll be opening my case again in a month or so though. Perhaps I'll do it then. I don't fancy removing the board though. Perhaps I'll just stick with my original plan, and wait to see how 1090t performs.
     
  8. theonejrs

    theonejrs Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    7,970
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Oman7,

    I dropped mine to 1.20v and the temps are the same. That's exactly why I'm contemplating moving the Rad outside, with more room and access to cool the VRMs, and no heat at all from the Rad, what little get's into the case, if any to begin with. The Rad should cool better because the grille in the case will be removed, so no restriction of airflow caused by the holes in the grille.

    Russ
     
  9. abhay7525

    abhay7525 Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hy!
    my motherboard is MS-7525 with Phoenix-Award BIOS(v0.00pg). I really dont find any way overclocking it.
    please help me!
     
  10. omegaman7

    omegaman7 Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,219
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Curious, not really an overclocking question, but an underclocking question. Can the Athlon 5200 be underclocked and stable? Because my brother has one in his HTPC, and the darn CPU fan Revs up at times. I'm considering either underclocking and lowering the volts(if possible), or finding a low profile with large fan/heatsink for the CPU. Watercooling is probably not an option for this HTPC. I know of no Radiators that will work in this situation. Perhaps you could educate me though :)
     
  11. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,319
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    As long as you can overclock, you can underclock, it's been done before. Set to it! :)
     
  12. theonejrs

    theonejrs Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    7,970
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Oman7,

    If the motherboard has CPU multiplier adjustment, just lower the CPU Multi. Even though it's a locked multiplier, you can usually lower it!

    Russ
     
  13. omegaman7

    omegaman7 Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,219
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    98
    LOL! Thanks man. The 5200 isn't black, but the gigabyte board it resides in, should be able to unlock some features ;)

    I prefer not underclock, but I may do it til I can find either a low profile cooler, or water cooler with HTPC radiator in mind.

    Thanks both of you :D
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2011
  14. omegaman7

    omegaman7 Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,219
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Thought I'd reapply thermal past to the 5200. Well, guess what happened! The Damn CPU is stuck to the heatsink LOL! I was attempting to rock the heatsink off the cpu. The whole shebang came out. While the lever was in the locked position. Now I have to use a razor knife to get the cpu off. Hopefully the socket is ok. I didn't force, it simply came out fairly easily :S The pins thankfully did not suffer at all. I think there may have been too much paste before...
     
  15. omegaman7

    omegaman7 Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,219
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Everything is looking good :) I underclocked the stock 2.6ghz/1.3V/13Multi to 2.2Ghz/1.275/11multi. I then ran Prime95 64bit for 10 minutes. It never exceeded 55C. The cpu fan never exceeded 3400rpms. MUCH more agreeable. I've found if Prime 95 can run for 6 - 10 minutes, it's usually pretty stable. However, in the case of X264, it usually can find instabilities. My brother is not gonna stress this HTPC though. I don't see the need in going any further. The most I've seen his CPU hit is 80%. And that was while watching a Blu-ray. Since the media player he uses, can utilize hardware acceleration (DXVA), The cpu should really never even see that. I think he'll be quite pleased with it for a while. I still insist on increasing its cooling though. I'm very anal about hot CPU's. And 50C is my limit. And given the fairly tight quarters the HTPC resides in, I need to improve it. But at least it'll be fine for a while ;)

    This is about the size of a grain of rice. I've heard people say that's usually sufficient. What do you think? The scratch was because of an imperfect razor knife. It's a trivial scratch :S I hope...
    [​IMG]
     
  16. omegaman7

    omegaman7 Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,219
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    98
    I had some fun with my brothers HTPC, Now I'm playing with mine. 4Ghz is really close to stable. Closest I've ever had!
    3.4Ghz *stock*

    x264 HD BENCHMARK 4.0 RESULTS

    Please do NOT compare it with older versions of the benchmark!

    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

    Results for x264.exe r1913
    ==========================
    Pass 1
    ------
    encoded 1442 frames, 108.63 fps, 3912.32 kb/s
    encoded 1442 frames, 109.00 fps, 3912.32 kb/s
    encoded 1442 frames, 109.39 fps, 3912.32 kb/s
    encoded 1442 frames, 109.52 fps, 3912.32 kb/s

    Pass 2
    ------
    encoded 1442 frames, 22.93 fps, 3961.81 kb/s
    encoded 1442 frames, 22.94 fps, 3961.78 kb/s
    encoded 1442 frames, 22.95 fps, 3961.32 kb/s
    encoded 1442 frames, 22.89 fps, 3962.09 kb/s




    ----------------------------------------------------
    3.7 Ghz(CPU-V 1.35) 1.2V NB 2200Mhz HT/NB -- ~8% performance boost.

    x264 HD BENCHMARK 4.0 RESULTS

    Please do NOT compare it with older versions of the benchmark!

    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

    Results for x264.exe r1913
    ==========================
    Pass 1
    ------
    encoded 1442 frames, 117.46 fps, 3912.32 kb/s
    encoded 1442 frames, 118.21 fps, 3912.32 kb/s
    encoded 1442 frames, 118.51 fps, 3912.32 kb/s
    encoded 1442 frames, 119.42 fps, 3912.32 kb/s

    Pass 2
    ------
    encoded 1442 frames, 24.81 fps, 3961.27 kb/s
    encoded 1442 frames, 24.79 fps, 3961.44 kb/s
    encoded 1442 frames, 24.96 fps, 3961.86 kb/s
    encoded 1442 frames, 24.92 fps, 3961.75 kb/s



    ----------------------------------------------------

    4.0Ghz (CPU-V 1.4V) 1.2V NB 2200Mhz HT/NB -- ~5 - 6% performance boost over previous clock. 12-14% boost over stock clock.


    x264 HD BENCHMARK 4.0 RESULTS


    Please do NOT compare it with older versions of the benchmark!

    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

    Results for x264.exe r1913
    ==========================
    Pass 1
    ------
    encoded 1442 frames, 123.41 fps, 3912.32 kb/s
    encoded 1442 frames, 124.41 fps, 3912.32 kb/s
    encoded 1442 frames, 125.25 fps, 3912.32 kb/s
    encoded 1442 frames, 124.57 fps, 3912.32 kb/s

    Pass 2
    ------
    encoded 1442 frames, 26.44 fps, 3961.23 kb/s
    encoded 1442 frames, 25.58 fps, 3961.79 kb/s
    encoded 1442 frames, 26.63 fps, 3961.41 kb/s
    encoded 1442 frames, 26.71 fps, 3960.80 kb/s
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2011
  17. theonejrs

    theonejrs Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    7,970
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Oman7,

    Don't rock it, press down hard enough to maintain good contact so the CPU won't pop out of the socket, and lightly rotate the coolerleft and right. What kind of paste was on it? I've had that problem with Arctic Silver, but never with Arctic MX-2. Just another good reason to use it.

    Russ
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2011
  18. omegaman7

    omegaman7 Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,219
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    98
    LOL! It may have been Arctic silver. If so, I replaced it with MX-2. It was the closest one in my desk drawer.
    In any case, it clearly appeared like I used too much last time. I tried both twisting and rocking lightly. Twisting is probably certainly safer than what happened. When I started rocking it lightly, that's when it gave up. It scared me when I saw no CPU in the socket LOL! I thought for sure the pins would be bent. But they took it like a champ. The CPU slipped right back in there like a glove :) I got lucky.

    I'll be running more stability tests tomorrow. If it checks out, I may just go for for 4.2Ghz. If I can stabilize 4.2, I just may survive for 6 - 8 months. On the average, a Blu-ray disc only takes 3 - 6hrs to encode. Depending on several factors of course ;) Although if 4.2 follows the same overclock trend, It probably won't be much of a gain(It might shave 20 min off a blu-ray encode). I think memory bandwidth, and HT/NB frequency may be the next thing to tweak.
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2011
  19. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,319
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I've never seen this happen with Arctic Silver or any of the other pastes I use, but I haven't used Ceramique. That seems like it might be the most likely culprit for it. Not saying because i haven't seen it that it can't happen, of course :p
     
  20. omegaman7

    omegaman7 Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    7,219
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    98
    X264 crashed. Just increased to 1.425V. We'll see what happens. If it crashes again, I'll bring the HT/NB frequency back to stock, and see what happens. It's too close to stable to need more voltage.
     

Share This Page