1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

the ram diffrence? PC2700 and PC3200

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by Xenokai, Apr 10, 2005.

  1. Xenokai

    Xenokai Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok my pc supports PC2700 speed max here's my pc http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?dlc=en&lc=en&product=435559&cc=us&docname=c00069442 but i just orderd this ram for it http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=20-223-009&depa=1 i heard PC3200 will work but it will run at PC2700 speed so i went ahead and got the PC3200 for future upgrades but will it slow my pc down in the PCxxxx area or just stay as PC2700 even tho my pc says it has PC2700 even in the bios i looked in my rig and it is useing PC3200 ram but is running at PC2700 sence 2700 is its max my board can support anyone know if this will run right ?
     
  2. haimback

    haimback Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thats stright from the link you gave, it will not support pc 3200
     
  3. forkndave

    forkndave Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    10
    I've used faster memory than the mother board was rated for and it just ran at the speed that the board supported. I guess you'll find out what it does when you get it.
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2005
  4. Jrmntr

    Jrmntr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    On one of my computers i've been using 400Mhz (PC-3200) when the mother board only supports 266Mhz (PC-2100) it's been running fine, i've left it running for close to 90 days non-stop without problems..But technically you should match your ram to what your motherboard supports, it's just technically better that way theres no risk of straining either the ram or your motherboard, I'd just make sure you get decent ram..samsung infineon corsair..you shouldn't have any problems.. Hope i helped.

    Edit: yes, your motherboard will run the ram slower to comply with it's specifications.
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2005
  5. Xenokai

    Xenokai Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ill see when i get it
     

Share This Page