1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TmpgEnc Plus - audio/video - cannot open/unsupported

Discussion in 'Video to DVD' started by SilentX, Apr 20, 2007.

1. SilentX

SilentX Member

Hi all ..

New here, but hope to frequent in the future if I can get the help I need.

Ok, I have just completed a fresh install of Windows XP Pro last night. I installed my usual array of DVD tools (codecs, TmpgEnc Plus, DVD Movie Factory, VirtualDub, DVD Shrink, etc ..) Now for some reason, when I go to open my normal avi's, TmpgEnc crashes, stating cannot open/unsupported. I have been doing encoding/making dvd's like this for 4+ years now. After 20+ formats, I can always get everything back up and running. This is the very first time this is happening.

I already know to raise the DirectShow filter to +2. I have xvid, divx, and ffdshow codecs installed. The avi's themselves are standard Xvid/Cyberlink MP3. They play fine using my WMP 11 and VLC player. They consist of scene release tv shows, poker shows, etc .. and actually I had started to convert them before I formatted, but forgot to backup, and now I need to start over. (so i know they will work without any other progs using my usal method).

I have never, ever needed to convert the audio using another program, nor do anything to the video before sending it through TmpgEnc. I simply start TmpgEnc Plus, use the wizard, open the avi, adjust brightness, volume, etc and start the batch. I have been trying to figure this out for like 3 hours now, and it simply will not open the avi. I am certain I am missing a code, but I have them all installed (xvid, divx, ffdshow, cyberlink, etc .. as stated).

The only workaround I can see is if I drop Directshow to 0, and raise AVI2(OpenDML) to +2 .. then it will open the avi video, but I get no sound.