1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

To change my current modchip? Or to wait for more stable cheaper modchips to come out?

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by Faytz, Jun 15, 2007.

  1. Faytz

    Faytz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi, I have a Japanese wii with an unknown modchip mod in it (I got it in Hong Kong), it works like a charm playing some of my backup games, but for other it can't seem to override the region lock (Cooking Mama, Legend of Zelda TP, Big Brain Academy, Baten Kaitos)... Should I and spend some money to get the modchip removed and install an another modchip instead OR stick with this one until more stable and better modchips come out.... Since my wii is a Japanese one, I need a modchip to play English games... If you think I should just change the modchip, which one would you recommend?

    I heard wiikey is prety good expect for the fact the updates take forever, I also heard there's are new ones out that does the same thing (wiiduo) but for much cheaper...

    Cheers,
    Faytz

    PS: I have already tried freeloader to patch the region but it won't work... I believe I would need a modchip that has audio patch... Thanks for any help provided!!
     
  2. DavGerm4

    DavGerm4 Active member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,409
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
  3. Faytz

    Faytz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ya, I know about the wiki site, but I also heard from other people (with japanese wii) playing the games my wii can't play with no trouble at all... So is any modchip completely compatible with ever single game out yet? If not I think I should wait for one that is completely compatible... (don't want to keep opening the wii up to change modchips)

    Thanks
    Faytz
     
  4. doc_z

    doc_z Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    WiiKey is (despite my obvious complaints with it) still a very good chip. Admittedly you could wait longer for a new generation of chips, but really there isn't much of a reason to wait around, most of the recent chips have very few problems, and most are related to cross-region issues which are unlikely to be fixed by a newer generation of chips anyway (as they are more likely concerned with the Wii itself and not the chip). However that being said are you sure the problem is not simply with the type of media you are using to burn the games, read any second post to read a discussion about which media to use to create playable backups, many are suprised at the difference that various types of blank media make. I wouldn't go buy a new chip, especially if you have not done an install before and would have to remove an existing one just on the off chance it might improve things. As with any major changes to hardware/firmware especially where no warranty exists never do it because you can only if you must.
     
  5. Faytz

    Faytz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well I'm using first class media to burn these (I bought them for my ps2 uses and you know ps2 lasers are fragile) so I'm sure it's not the media... Besides the discs are all "locked" when it tries to load the games. I heard improvements on other modchips so I'm real tempted...

    Thanks for help
    Faytz
     
  6. wifanatic

    wifanatic Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  7. Faytz

    Faytz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Wow that looks rather sweet, I'll wait for that one then (of course first I'll listen to all the feedback of the chip first.

    Thanks for the info.
     
  8. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    @Faytz


    Here is some information on these game titles you are trying to play...

    By looking at the compatibility list for playing out of region game disc on your NTSC(J) the below can be found...

    Big Brain Academy NTSC(U) Can not be played on your NTSC(J) Wii. Wiki says this for that game...

    NTSC(U)0183 Big Brain Academy: Wii Degree Risk of "bricking" even you have 2.2J, and can't play. Makes Wii settings page inaccessible on 2.2J

    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Cooking Mama PAL or NTSC(U) version can not be played on your NTSC(J) Wii. Wiki says this on that title...

    PAL 0161 Cooking Mama: Cook Off (WiiERD) freezes in white screen after saving

    NTSC(U) 0125 Cooking Mama: Cook Off freezes in white screen after saving

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------
    Legend Of Zelda TP NTSC(U) version is the only version that is region compatible with your NTSC(J) Wii. If you have the PAL version of Legend Of Zelda TP then it is not compatible with your NTSC(J) Wii. Wiki says the below for that title...

    NTSC(U) 0022 The Legend Of Zelda : Twilight Princess Tested with Wiikey

    PAL 0002 The Legend Of Zelda : Twilight Princess (PI) Recognizes disc, locks up on load

    ------------------------------------------------------------------

    As for Baten Kaitos is this a Wii game? I have never heard of it.

    Taking this information in consideration buying a different Modchip to solve this issue will not resolve the issue. Because the game disc you are trying to play are not Region Compatible with your NTSC(J) Wii. (Except for the NTSC(U) version of Legend of Zelda check to see if it is the NTSC or PAL version)

    Whatever Modchip you have installed should be able to play out of region game disc no matter if your Modchip has the Region override option or not. Even if it doesn't have a Region Override option you should still be able to use a region patcher to patch the game disc to play in your Modded Wii.

    The trick is finding game disc that are region compatible with your NTSC(J) game system.

    For a further list of games that are and are not compatible with your NTSC(J) Wii go to the link below. You will need to look under the section of (NTSC(U) TO NTSC(J) and PAL TO NTSC(J)

    http://wiki.gbatemp.net/index.php/Wii_Region_Free_Patcher_Compatibility_List#NTSC-U_.28USA.29_to_PAL
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2007
  9. Faytz

    Faytz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Not exactly true, they won't play (from what I have understand) because of the audio problem. Like you can't play Naruto (J) on a Ntsc Wii, it locks down because of the audio problem, so with an audio fix it should work... Besides I've heard from sources that they can play these games just fine on a Japanese wii... Baten Kaitos is a gamecube game, I have troubles playing some of my gamecube games also (it's really random) not even originals of some gamecube games so it's pretty fustrating (hence the reason why I'm tempted to change the modchip itself)..
     
  10. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Gamecube games are a different story.

    But if you want to get a different Modchip with a Game Cube streaming audio fix then do not get a Wiikey. Because it does not actually have a fix for it.

    But as for...

    NTSC(U) Big Brain Academy
    NTSC(U)/PAL Cooking Mama
    PAL Legend of Zelda TP

    Those titles can not be played on your NTSC(J) Wii. No matter what Modchip you get. There is no Modchip or region patcher that can play 100% Wii backups.

    If sources you know say they can play those games above then either your sources are wrong or they should be launching their own Modchip or their own Region patcher and make some money.
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2007
  11. Faytz

    Faytz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So your answer would be, wait for a modchip that DOES support 100% region right? So I guess I'll just wait it out until a 100% compatible modchip comes out (or when the shortage ends get a new wii with a new modchip, I never know, my mom loves the thing...)

    Faytz
     
  12. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I have no idea when 1 will become availble. You might be waiting for a while.

    As for Legend of Zelda TP The NTSC(U) version should work on your Wii. Either by enabling your Modchip Region override if it has it or by patching the ISO with a Region patcher.

    1 of those steps should work with your Modchip.
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2007
  13. Faytz

    Faytz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I tried the region patch for zelda (I don't have those big brand modchip it was mod in hk by this guy that was apparently very talented... and he created it himself... also the reason why I want to change the modchip)

    The zelda game is actually multi five pal region I believe.. doesn't work...
     
  14. larrylje

    larrylje Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I don't think you understand what I am saying. You just said that the Zelda game was a PAL game and it didn't work. That is because it is not region compatible with your NTSC(J) Wii.

    No matter what if you patch it or your Modchip has region override it will not play on your NTSC(J) Wii.

    Matter of fact there isn't a patcher or a region free Modchip out there that could play the PAL Zelda version on a NTSC(J) Wii.

    That is why I said to get an NTSC version. You can patch that with a region patcher and it should work on your NTSC(J) Wii.

    Most Modchips all together for the Wii have the same basic options available. Some might have a few more options for Game Cube games and some might have Region override available. But even if your Modchip does not have region override the game disc can still be region patched to play on your modded Wii.

    The as you stated (big brain chips) will only come out once the Modscene hacks the Nintendo firmware itself and lets us start running custom firmware on the Wii itself.
     
  15. Faytz

    Faytz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I do understand, but I'm too lazy to go and get another copy of legend of zelda just to play it on the wii (I already beat the game on my gamecube since I bought a gamecube on already)... We all know how big wii iso files are, and besides there aren't much seeds (well I did buy the game, just on another platform). I'll just wait and see how the wii scenes develops I guess -.-;

    Thanks
    Faytz
     
  16. DavGerm4

    DavGerm4 Active member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,409
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    The iso's may have little seeds, BUT, all you really have to do is just let the program run overnight, and it will eventually be done!
     
  17. Faytz

    Faytz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    True, but some torrent that are abandon doesn't have seeds (usually outdated ones) and it's a waste of bandwidth... besides usually when you download you should always leave yours on to seed to reach a 1:1 ratio or more.

    Faytz
     
  18. DavGerm4

    DavGerm4 Active member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,409
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I seed on things now, because back in the day (like a week ago...), I didn't have that much Memory on my PC, but now I have a 500GB External HDD, so I got nothin to loose...
     
  19. Faytz

    Faytz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have around that much on my pc too, but I only have 20gb bandwidth through shaw for my internet (and they're freakin picky about my download and upload limit too)... I want to switch but my parents refuse the idea of both adding more bandwidth and switching internet providers... So I try to only download what I need (I can download fast, but not really allow to download that much)

    Faytz
     

Share This Page