1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tomb Raider Anniversary freezing on save?

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by Saber9, Jun 7, 2007.

  1. Saber9

    Saber9 Guest

    Game works fine until I try to save then it just says saving forever. I might try rebuilding it because it is pretty big and I'm using swap magic.
     
  2. orthogonl

    orthogonl Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You will probably need to rebuild the game if you are a Swap Magic user. Certain images (anything greater than ~4.35GB+) are usually too much for Swap Magic to handle. By rebuilding you can remove the dummy files and condense the game to a size within that threshold.

    Download Gnie's ExPERT tool: http://files.filefront.com/xpertrar/;6408626;/fileinfo.html (password: xpert2xmas)

    Open the program.

    Under the Sound Options dropdown box, make sure sTrumpet1.wav is selected.

    1. Select the 'PS2 CdDvd5 |PSP UMD ISO Shrinker v1.04 *.ISO' on the plugins drop down list.
    2. Select the ISO you want to rebuild.
    3. Click Extract LBA.
    4. Click Extract file and wait for it to finish.
    5. Click Rebuild file and wait for it to finish.
    6. Click Rebuild LBA.
    7. Burn the new ISO with DVD Decrypter/Nero/Alcohol 120%.
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2007
  3. phaser1

    phaser1 Guest

    Hello there.

    I read that you need to select "Shrinker_ps2_psp_CdDvd5_iso.epi " from the drop down list. I don't see it listed as-is. However, when I look in the actual Xpert2 plug-ins folder, I see it in there. How do I get it to show up in the drop down menu, or is it actually there under a different name?

    Thanks.

    Phaser1
     
  4. phaser1

    phaser1 Guest

    I see one listed as "PS2 CDDVD5 [PSP UMB ISO Shrinker 1.04]. However, when using that one, after performing step 3 (some text file is created), then in step 4, the "extract file" button is no longer lit up to be clicked on.

    Thanks for your help,

    Phaser1
     
  5. phaser1

    phaser1 Guest

    Okay,

    I figured it out. Didn't realize you had to keep closing and re-opening Xpert. The routine worked. Thanks for the steps.

    Phaser 1
     
  6. orthogonl

    orthogonl Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Sorry, fixed the original instructions. BTW, I never had to restart ExPERT.
     
  7. immortal5

    immortal5 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You don't have to to keep opening and closing Xpert. Just remember to select trumpet for the sound. For some reason it crashes when you don't select that as the sound to play when done.
     
  8. lowkey

    lowkey Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I am having the exact problem with my TR game. I have tried rebuilding the iso and I cannot get the rebuilt version to boot. I followed the instructions for Xpert exactly as they are here as well as the tutorial by gnie. Is there another way to rebuild the file that will allow SM to boot the disc and allow saving?
     
  9. immortal5

    immortal5 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  10. gnie

    gnie Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    about Tomb Raider Anniversary, using my xpert2 tool iso shrinker ver 1.04 have small bugs for this game,after rebuild the iso, you need to use burning software with add postgap feature to get this save game work, otherwise it will freeze on saving or start the game.
    anoter way to rebuild this game is extract all the file and use cdvdgen to export .iml and .ims the use cdvd_iml2iso to rebuild the iso.
     
  11. lowkey

    lowkey Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    which burning software has the postgap feature? I have tried nero 6.6 but it still has the save flaws. I looked for cd/dvd gen but I can't find it to download.
     
  12. immortal5

    immortal5 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  13. phaser1

    phaser1 Guest

    I was able to get the game to work (including saves) via this method.

    1. Insert game disc.
    2. Open ISO buster.
    3. Extract disc contents to new folder (ps2_extracted)
    - Shift select all files.
    - click the Extract button at top.
    - In new window, create new folder, call it PS2_Extracted
    4. When done, keep ISO Buster opened.
    5. Launch CD/DVD Gen (new project - dvd)
    6. Drag files from PS2_extracted folder to CD/DVD gen in the order they reside in ISO Buster.
    7. Provide Volume information (Slus and Playstation and Country)
    8. Click Record - provide name - save to desktop
    9. Two errors - click ok and ok
    10. Click "export image", provide a name.
    11. Several IML files are created.
    12. When done, close CD/DVD Gen and ISO Buster.
    13. Open IML2ISO.
    14. Tell it to open a file from the desktop, (or wherever cd/dvd gen put your multiple files.) Should be the file name you gave CD/DVD Gen.
    15. Click Start
    16. Burn final image with DVD Decrypter at 4X (I use TYG02's as my DVDs of choice).

    Done. Game will boot smoother, and you'll be able to save your progress, as well as, create the initial save point when asked.

    Phaser1 (aka: Digital9x)

    PS. I tried the Xpert Method, and each time, my SM Discs would say "not valid disc."
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 26, 2007
  14. lowkey

    lowkey Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks Phaser! I tried the other method in the tutorial section using Apache and no luck. I decided to give it one more shot with the method you used and bang...no problems. I just wish I didn't have this new set of shiny coasters.
     
  15. phaser1

    phaser1 Guest

    No problem at all. Glad you got it to work. The original routine for my steps first includes creating an ISO of the game disc, then heading to ISObuster. But you can skip that step if you just tell ISBbuster to rip from the game disc, as you did.

    You'll find that by following those steps should work to your advantage for most every game. Some games you can merely create an ISO, then burn it back, but it's not always gauranteed to play correctly.

    Happy gaming,

    Phaser1
     

Share This Page