1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Total Newbie - DMS4 EZI Pro Help!

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by cawley1, Feb 28, 2007.

  1. cawley1

    cawley1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi,
    Total newbie at PS2, so please can someone help me!
    I have just installed a DMS4 EZI Pro solderless modchip to my NTSC V7 PS2.
    The PS2 is happy to boot as usual, and runs NTSC/UC games, but it seems as if the modchip is not there when I boot (but I think this might be right!) I was expecting a splash screen or something!
    If I hold down Square, it says the chip is disabled, and if I hold down Start it goes to a memory card loader, but I am looking to install the ToxicOS flash upgrade so I cam play PAL games and I cannot figure out how to boot the CD I have burned, the image of which came from the Toxic website.
    If I leave it in the tray and switch the PS2 on, it just goes to the red PS2 disc screen.
    Any ideas how I get it going, apologies for most likely being dumb!
    Cheers,
    Paul
     
  2. cawley1

    cawley1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I should mention I have burned the CUE file in Nero from the Toxic zip files at both 8x and Max on a BASF and Unbranded blank CD and neither does anything.
    I put the CD in the tray, switch on the system and it goes to the Sony screen, skips in the browser for a second, then onto the red screen!
    What am I doing wrong???
     
  3. raiderj

    raiderj Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Could be a faulty install. Those EZI setups are very delicate.
     
  4. yann1234

    yann1234 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    try burning it with alcohol 120 (instead of nero) on PS2 settings and lower speed than usual (4x?)

    you need to get the burn to go in RAW mode, i guess it's possible by playing with nero options too...


     
  5. cawley1

    cawley1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Just done that, no joy!
    I have to say I have no wasted about 8 blank CD-R and this is really beginning to piss me off...
    Is it possible I need to check the ribbon cable that goes to the eject mechanism pcb as I read somewhere this might be an issue (but cannot be bothered to dismantle the PS2 again unless really necessary!)
     

Share This Page