1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Total noob to the DS (I own a PSP)- does the DS (or slim) have custom firmware like the PSP?

Discussion in 'Nintendo DS' started by chaosnova, Dec 5, 2007.

1. chaosnova

chaosnova Guest

Basically the title.

I've been thinking of buying a DS from my friend, but I really want one if I can get a custom firmware similar to that of the PSP (like 3.40 OE-A). Has anyone invented that kind of a thing for the DS (particularly so that one can play free games)?

Appreciate the help, and yes, I did use the search button, but to no avail :(.

2. juniR

juniR Guest

nowt like the PSP - I have a psp and the DS has a simpler setup - buy a cart and load it up with games haha. R4DS with 2Gb micro SD for about 40ish quid total and you will get 40 to 50 games on it.

3. juniR

juniR Guest

Oh and 3.40 is old these days ;)

4. chaosnova

chaosnova Guest

Woah, but you still get free games? Thanks for the response, but do you mind elaborating (expanding) on the topic?

1.) Do you buy 1 cartrige and then DOWNLOAD the DS games off of the internet?

2.) After you DOWNLOAD them, what do you do?

3.) Where can I update or buy the stuff needed for the above.

4.) I know the 3.40 isn't the latest lol... I just haven't had any problems with it, so I see no need to update and possibly cause more problems.

" R4DS with 2Gb micro SD for about 40ish quid total and you will get 40 to 50 games on it."

Elaborate on this sentence lol.. what is R4DS and 2Gb micro SD and "40ish quid total."

Sorry lol, I'm a noob.

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 5, 2007
  5. nintenut

nintenut Regular member

Yep, completely free, check out frozen-roms.net, ds.rom-news.org, or 1rom.net for the downloads.

1. One cartridge and one microSD card.

2. Put it on your microSD and plug it into the R4, you can also trim excess data to reduce the size of it with various apps.