1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

"Traces" in movie...

Discussion in 'Convert DVD to another format' started by re_mendes, Sep 23, 2002.

  1. re_mendes

    re_mendes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    After I compress to DivX5, using a article on this site, my final movie has some "traces" on the movements!!
    What can I do ??

    *Sorry for my bad english*
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2002
  2. VCDjunkie

    VCDjunkie Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    sounds to me like you have a source that is interlaced.. in which case, you will need to de-interlace.

    This website has the most info available about interlacing: http://www.100fps.com/

    what you need to do is preview the source video in DVD2AVI to find out whether or not the source is interlaced. if it is interlaced, then go back to this guide and be sure to follow the instructions about deinterlacing

    http://www.afterdawn.com/articles/archive/dvd2divx_anamorphic.cfm

    hope this helps.
     
  3. re_mendes

    re_mendes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    In the preview, the "Frame type" is progressive and not interlaced.

    I need to de-interlace whatever??

    Thanks for help!!
     
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2002
  4. VCDjunkie

    VCDjunkie Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ok, so its not an interlacing problem! good, next.. did you use 2 pass VBR, or just a single pass CBR? The first few rips I did were sorta jerky at times of high motion, and this is usually fixed using VBR (variable bit rate) encoding. I think the guide on this site says to use 2 pass VBR..

    Anyhow, not to waste anymore time since I believe in doing things the easy way, I suggest you try using Gordian Knot. This software is the best front end for the DivX 5 pro codec I have found. I could do things the hard way, but this program pretty much makes it dummy proof, not that I think you are a dummy.. anyhow, get the software here: http://www.doom9.org/index.html?/gknot-main3.htm

    hope it works out for ya!
     

Share This Page