1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

transferring emulators to xbox

Discussion in 'Xbox - Software discussion' started by goatboy84, Apr 26, 2007.

1. goatboy84

goatboy84 Member

Hey look its one of these topics again. I know these topics show up on every message board but everyone I've read has not helped me. They explain it like I've done it before. I'm an extreme noob when it comes to this stuff.

What I've done so far is soft mod my xbox with EvoX. My version has a skin with people standing with green EvoX writing. I was shocked to find that I don't have a XBMC (I think thats right) with this. I have an option to launch emulators but I don't have any.

My question is how do I put them on there? I have a FTP connection between my Xbox and PC. I can use either SmartFTP or FlashFXP. I know how to access my Xbox's files from my PC. What I don't know how to do is actually get the MAME, Virtual Xboy and other emulators. I have one its like Mameox on my computer. Do I unzip it or "unrar" it first or just send it over? Also how do I put my roms on there? I need help putting the emulators and roms on my xbox using a FTP program.

I've used MAME on my PC and I know how to run games that way but the Xbox is uncharted waters.

Any help is appreciated.

2. Almakra

Almakra Guest

erm assuming that you have a hard drive in your xbox it should be a doddle...

create a folder say on the f:drive called emulators. and whack your MAME or other emulators in there, preferably in seperate folders so you know whats what.
    most if not all progs need a file called default.xbe which is the executable program, so make sure you have one of these for each program you put on there.
    your ROMS go into another folder within the MAME folder possibly called Roms, so when you load your emulator the roms will load into the list automatically.

you should then be able to navigate to it with evox.