1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Transferring from PC to PS2 HDD, help

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by Mirth, Oct 8, 2004.

1. Mirth

Mirth Member

Hey all. I just got my 120 Maxtor, HD Advance, Swap Magic and Slide Tool the other day, so I'm very new at this, so please bear with my stupidty on the subject.

I want to transfer my downloaded Spiderman 2 from my PC to my PS2's HDD. (I'm aware that downloading games you don't have is illegal, but I chose to try Spiderman 2 because I do in fact own it.)

I've been reccommended to use HDL Dump, but whenever I open it, it greys out the part that says something like "Locally Networked PS2" or whatever. I am networked correctly.

I know there is a process in which I have to send a file to my PS2 (by memory card?) that will make my PC detect that the PS2's networked, or something of that sort. I may be wrong, but this is what I heard (but there weren't any details on how to do so.)

So if any of you know what steps I should take to do this next, I'd greatly appreciate your help.

2. Mirth

Mirth Member

Anyone? =(

3. notmyname

notmyname Regular member

I believe that HDLDump requires you to make a disc for the PS2 so your PC can communicate with it across the network. You could put the harddrive in your PC and use WinHIIP to transfer the file locally. Just put the harddrive back in your PS2 when you have finished.

4. Mirth

Mirth Member

Do you know what kind of disc I'd have to make, and what files to put on that disc?

I also just put the Harddrive in my PC to try it that way, and it worked pretty easily, although getting to my computer and opening it up is a giant mess, so I'd like to see how that PC - PS2 transfer worked. It'd svave me a LOT of trouble, and keep me from messing up my computer or harddrive. =)

5. aznbound

aznbound Regular member