1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Transferring from PC to PS2 HDD, help

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by Mirth, Oct 8, 2004.

  1. Mirth

    Mirth Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey all. I just got my 120 Maxtor, HD Advance, Swap Magic and Slide Tool the other day, so I'm very new at this, so please bear with my stupidty on the subject.

    I want to transfer my downloaded Spiderman 2 from my PC to my PS2's HDD. (I'm aware that downloading games you don't have is illegal, but I chose to try Spiderman 2 because I do in fact own it.)

    I've been reccommended to use HDL Dump, but whenever I open it, it greys out the part that says something like "Locally Networked PS2" or whatever. I am networked correctly.

    I know there is a process in which I have to send a file to my PS2 (by memory card?) that will make my PC detect that the PS2's networked, or something of that sort. I may be wrong, but this is what I heard (but there weren't any details on how to do so.)

    So if any of you know what steps I should take to do this next, I'd greatly appreciate your help.
     
  2. Mirth

    Mirth Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Anyone? =(
     
  3. notmyname

    notmyname Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I believe that HDLDump requires you to make a disc for the PS2 so your PC can communicate with it across the network. You could put the harddrive in your PC and use WinHIIP to transfer the file locally. Just put the harddrive back in your PS2 when you have finished.
     
  4. Mirth

    Mirth Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Do you know what kind of disc I'd have to make, and what files to put on that disc?

    I also just put the Harddrive in my PC to try it that way, and it worked pretty easily, although getting to my computer and opening it up is a giant mess, so I'd like to see how that PC - PS2 transfer worked. It'd svave me a LOT of trouble, and keep me from messing up my computer or harddrive. =)
     
  5. aznbound

    aznbound Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Try WinHIIP. To me its an easier program to use. Also, You have to format the hard drive with hd advance first before the programs can recognize it.
     
  6. Mirth

    Mirth Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yeah, I already formatted it for the PS2. Does that WINHIIP program transfer from PC to PS2? That's what I'm mostly looking for instructions on because I already know how to get images on the harddrive when I put it in my PC.
     
  7. aznbound

    aznbound Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I dont get what you are trying to do. If you can send images to the hard drive via pc, what are you trying to do?
     
  8. Mirth

    Mirth Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Erm...

    Like, you know how you can put in the PS2 harddrive in your PC, and then put the image onto the that PS2 harddrive from the PC? Well, that requires you to take your PS2 HDD out of your PS2, open your computer, hook up the PS2 HDD to your computer, dump the image onto the HDD, take out the PS2 HDD and put it back in your PS2.

    The way I'M talking about is having the PS2 HDD in the PS2, and if you're NETWORKED with your PS2 with your PC, you can transfer the game image from your PC STRAIGHT to your PS2's HDD, which is in the PS2 still. It keeps you from ever having to open up your computer, or even taking out the PS2 HDD from your PS2.

    Now, what I'm confused on is how to get HDL Dumb to recognize the network from your PS2 to PC. As "notmyname" said, I guess you have to burn a special disc and put it in your PS2 so that your PC can recognize the network. To do this, I don't know what program to burn and what comes after that. =(
     
  9. Mirth

    Mirth Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Bump? =(
     
  10. mjay23

    mjay23 Guest

    Yes it does excist :) and it works install an image/games direct on your PS2 HDD from your PC using network. By doing that procedure you need the ELF triggered from MC exploit or you can make the cd for and boot it on your PS2. i have the image for it if you want it, just drop a line.
     
  11. aznbound

    aznbound Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Can I get it too? Thanks, and do you boot it with swap magic cd? Heres my email-

    noemailsallowed@afterdawn.com
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2004
  12. Mirth

    Mirth Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I PMed ya mjay!
     
  13. DPB

    DPB Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Is Elf 3.11 what you are talking about? If not can you send me it also?

    noemailsallowed@afterdawn.com

    Edit: Yea if you could send me the image also that would be great.

    Edit2: You must just be talking about a ps2 ftp program right?
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2004
  14. sixways

    sixways Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    if you could stand sending it to someone else, i would greatly apreciate it. email: noemailsallowed@afterdawn.com

    thank you
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2004
  15. mjay23

    mjay23 Guest

    I PMed ya mjay! <<< i'll log back on tonight when i get back home.

    Is Elf 3.11 what you are talking about? <<< an ELF (an .exe for PS2 to trigger network adapter, to link your PS2 to your PC or network)

    Edit2: You must just be talking about a ps2 ftp program right? <<< yes, so you don't have to remove your HDD from your PS2, and attach to your HDD to your pc and Dump :) instead the original question from MIRTH is much better and simplier no taking things apart like removing HD and attatch to your PC, too much work.
     
  16. aznbound

    aznbound Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If its not any trouble, can you tell me how this works? You set up your ps2 adapter with the installation cd, then you just connect the adapter to a line? Is that it? I have a cable modem and a router so I dont get which line to hook up to the adapter.
     
  17. spoonTRex

    spoonTRex Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I PMed you too, mjay, at least I think I did. :) (I tried) If it's not any bother, would you mind sending the image to me as well. noemailsallowed@afterdawn.com
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2004
  18. navi95

    navi95 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    have any of you managed to do it?

    I am just tryin it out now n if u lot dont know how 2 do it I can give ya an explanation.
     
  19. joe33333

    joe33333 Guest

    an explanation would be nice
     
  20. navi95

    navi95 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    im kinda a busy @ the mo, i will post a little guide later on 2day.

    navi95
     

Share This Page