1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tried to copy,employee of the month

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by dh3245, Jan 22, 2007.

  1. dh3245

    dh3245 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i tried to copy employee of the month since then my dvd burner does'nt reconize blank dvd's.i tried this on 2 different dvd burners. since then my dvd burners when i put a blank dvd in it comes up as cd drive. can anyone help.
     
  2. thedroid

    thedroid Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Try to reinstall the DVD driver. That may help. If you don't have the disc, check the web.

    Good luck
     
  3. rbrock

    rbrock Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    they say they are a cd drive dont worry about it
     
  4. johnl123

    johnl123 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I agree with rbrock, mine does the same thing, when I insert blank DVD media it will display "CD drive".
     
  5. kypartman

    kypartman Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have a MadDog external burner that kept giving me fits like you described. Turned out after over a year of fighting it I decided to put in a tower and use it as the read drive. The jumper was set wrong on the MadDog out of the box. It was set to master so I switched to slave and plowed on with out one problem.

    I am not saying this is your problem at all but worth a check.
     
  6. jimbro

    jimbro Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    This just happened to me with employee of the month and running with scissors. Tried all 3 of my drives, one is a brand new plextor, and nothing, other than on one drive, it sees it as a cd but you still can't open it. I believe they have finally came up with a technology to prevent a movie from being copied (at least on a PC DVD-R). I've NEVER had this sort of problem (my dvd drive not reading the disc). They both read/play fine on my home DVD player, how they did this, I'd really like to know. I wonder how we're gonna get around this?!
     
  7. fasfrank

    fasfrank Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    4,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I copied Employee of the Month with AnyDVD and CloneDVD. This is another of those Lionsgate movies so it has ARccOS protection on it.
    Ripit4me should get through this movie as well if you want to use free programs.
    The latest DVDFab Decrypter may also work.
     
  8. rbrock

    rbrock Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    TRy this make sure auto play is canceled if your runnig XP put in a working disc and when the pop up menu shows up choose take no action and check always do the selected action then you might be able to burn it with Ripi4me or Anydvd
     
  9. jimbro

    jimbro Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Rebooted the pc, now it recognizes the movie (employee of the month)! Go figure, especially since my other pc is brand new and was just turned on when I put the disc in. Ghosts in the machine I suppose. Now shrink with anydvd is making quick work of it. Pheww, for a minute there, I thought they were winning!
     
  10. rbrock

    rbrock Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Burn Baby Burn !
     
  11. jimbro

    jimbro Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I think I've figured it out, my trusty sony is taking a crap, finally, after 1200 or so burns! hehe! Hence the sometimes read, sometimes not.It's been well worth the 38.00 to newegg for it! Time to get a new one and start wearing it out!
     
  12. rbrock

    rbrock Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    A have a Sony and after all the updates on the firmware still can't burn a movie without the legos maybe mine was a lemon (DW-Q30A)
     
  13. hayden58

    hayden58 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    just a note: DVD FAB flew through this movie.
     

Share This Page