1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Trouble with Backing up DVD!

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by dlo_604, Jan 13, 2005.

  1. dlo_604

    dlo_604 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I just wanted to back up a movie that my friend lent me. It's a DVD-R but when I slip it into my BenQ DW1610 Dual Format DVD ReWriter.

    This is my problem. Once I insert the DVD into my DVD burner it doesn't read it, but when I insert a real DVD movie it does read it.

    Can somebody please help me?
     
  2. jim_dandy

    jim_dandy Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Im not familiar with your burner, but you need to use media thats compatible with your burner.
    Some name brands just dont work with some burners.
    A firmware update may help.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2005
  3. dlo_604

    dlo_604 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Okay thanks
     
  4. saugmon

    saugmon Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,064
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Hey dlo, it sounds like you are trying to copy your friends backup copy. Unless your friend used a high quality,copying backups from poor media is a lot harder.Also if he burned it too fast it can be a problem to re-rip them.

    I use high quality verbatim mcoo3 discs on my important backups along with a 4x burn. These will allow me to recopy them onto other blank discs using nero express with no problems. The slightly lower quality media like ricohjpn give me errors when i try to re-rip them.

    What brand of media is your friends dvd-r?
    How fast does he burn them?
     
  5. lhunter

    lhunter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have a similar problem (possibly) with about 50% of my burns having issues. I use Shrink and Decrypter, but my back ups off of the originals tends to skip, pause and start the entire movie over for no reason.

    Is this related to burn speed? Bad media (I've used FujiFilm, Maxell)? Something else?

    Some moveies come our just fine...even stranger I can "rewind" a dvd to the point where it just skipped and play it again ... and it won't skip!
     
  6. bbmayo

    bbmayo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    lhunter

    You answered your own question

    It has to do with all the reasons you wrote :)

    Mostly poor media oh and burn speed :)
     
  7. lhunter

    lhunter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I love it when I answer my own questions...but I am lacking the most important part. Can you recommend a burn speed?

    Can you recommend the best media for the buck?
     
  8. bbmayo

    bbmayo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Best Media hands down is Taiyo Yuden you can get them at several on line retailers here are a few

    http://www.supermediastore.com/index.html
    http://www.rima.com/

    Burn speed I like to keep under 4x the slower the better less likely to have any problems.

    Another good word of advise is to burn the main movie only and no extras. This will give you the best quality possible when backing up to DVD5 format.
     
  9. lhunter

    lhunter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Tied the 4x and 2x write speeds with the Taiyo Yuden DVD+R media and have the same problem...dvd player (one old and one new) do not recognize the dvd.

    Any thoughts?
     
  10. bbmayo

    bbmayo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    What proggys are you using?
    What is the make/model of your burner?
    Operating system? (Specs)
     
  11. lhunter

    lhunter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I appreciate your help and interest bbmayo.

    Operating system: XP Pro
    MAchine specs: 2.4 Ghz, 512 MB RAM,
    Programs: Shrink, Decrypter
    Burner is LiteOn, model 1633S, Brand new, current drivers, 16X, dual layer capability.

    I was told the burner was a good brand...I specifically tried to by a higher end burner. et me know if you think this could be the problem.

     
  12. bbmayo

    bbmayo Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,088
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Are you possibly putting labels on your disk's?
    That is a very good burner.

    this really sounds more and more like a media issue more than anything else.

    Are you backing up the whole DVD or just the main movie?
    If you doing the whole DVD and having problems try just doing the main movie and reducing your target size in Shrink.
    Check out a guide here http://home.comcast.net/~bbmayo/
     
  13. lhunter

    lhunter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I don't add covers until I know they work. And actually, even the DVDs I thought worked skip and pause throught the movie.

    I noticed that when I ran DVD Decrypter in test mode it would immediately error out - "Command Sequence Error" - is what popped up ...another burining app I tried also showed errors.

    Long story short, LiteOn said it is probably a hardware issue. Thanks for you help everyone and I'll update the thread later, once I get my new drive back.
     
  14. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi

    @ dlo_604

    do you have the latest firmware in your burner?

    but like said it could be media?
     
  15. lhunter

    lhunter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I was able to update my firmware, but had the same problems afterward.

    I started out using bad media, but switched to Taiyo Yuden DVD+R media, which I hear is very good.
     
  16. ScubaBud

    ScubaBud Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    [bold]lhunter[/bold]

    How about trying this just for kicks. Try using a DVD-R for one test burn. Use DVD Decrypter and Shrink like you normally do but this time just use the "backup" and all "default settings". You can of course use custom ratio for everything other then the main movie. Just try this one time and see what happens when you test the media in your players.

    And one more thing... Make sure that nothing is running in the background when you do your burn.
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2005
  17. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi there

    yes scubabud, i see your aim! interesting....
     

Share This Page