1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Trouble with decrypter

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by jered1, Nov 11, 2004.

1. jered1

jered1 Guest

I am new to this so hopefully I am not asking a stupid question. I am trying to backup a DVD using DVD decrypter and DVD X Copy platinium. Neither have worked. Everything is going fine until the programs get about half way throught the disk and the programs slows down and eventually errors out reporting sector read errors. It is interesting because I am backing up a mutliple disc TV series. I have been able to backup every other disc from the series, but two. I have two computers and both have the same problem. I checked for scratches on the DVD's but there were none. The discs play fine in the DVD player, but seem to have problems playing on both computers using WinDVD 4.0. I have spent hours reading the manuals and I have not found any solution. Is it something simple I am missing? Any suggestions?

2. flip218

flip218 Moderator Staff Member

Are you using the newest DVD Decrypter? And, have you tried DVD Shrink?

3. jered1

jered1 Guest

I have tried the latest version of DVD decrypter, but I haven't tried DVD shrink. I will try that and let you know.

4. jered1

jered1 Guest

I tried DVD shrink and I followed the manual. It was 72% finished analysing when it came up with

'Failed to read file "D:\'"
    Data error (cyclic redundancy check)'

tried it again and it gave a different error

'Failed to read file "D:\'"
    Incorrect Function'

I'm not sure what to make of it

5. flip218

flip218 Moderator Staff Member

crc error is usually a dirty or scratched disc ... if your doing the original.

If your doing a backup of a backup, it usually means poor media.

Are you using the original? And, does it only happen with a few or all dvds?

6. jered1

jered1 Guest