1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

*** Trying something new! need help guys/dolls! ***

Discussion in 'DVD±R for advanced users' started by Rotary, Sep 30, 2003.

  1. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi all

    Ok, i have done backup up home dvd's now but i want to try to put 2 dvd films onto 1 dvd-r, i would like a menu of sorts to allow the chioce of either film when i put it the stand alone player or PC.

    Now the first thing i can see is this the 2 films vobs/ifos/bups will conflict so how do i get round this bit? with what program also? for ease of use and does good menus!

    So guys/dolls any pionters in the right direction will be great!

    All the best all

    Rotary...

    EDIT:

    Basically i am going main movie only! and just strip the guts from all to as small as possible for size compression!

    Thx...

     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2003
  2. koola

    koola Guest

    Two films onto one DVD is not very good as the size restrictions of DVD5 make any sort of duel movie disc impractical.

    A way round this problem is to put SVCD movies onto the DVD but this in its self has problems.
    Have a look at the guides here at AD.

    Good luck :D
     
  3. tmfloria

    tmfloria Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    yeah only thing I can think of too is to put either multiple VCD XVD SVCD or XSVCD's onto one DVD-R CD... other than that I dunno

     
  4. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Depending on the length of the dvd's accumulatively and also file sizes it maybe possible without too much loss of quality, but I would recommend to convert them to SVCD first.

    I did this (using SVCD) with Along came a Spider and Harts War (just playing about one weekend) using Sonic Mydvd but I gotta tell you it took several hours.

    The main problem was down to the audio, as it was at a lower sample rate Mydvd had to transcode it to the higher dvd compliant sample rate and this took it eons to do.

    I had to first re-encode my original SVCD's to compliant MPEG2 format which Mydvd would accept using TMPGenc (just the standard SVCD template).
    This was because, how I compiled them I increased the quality and sacrificed the audio.

    Once this had been completed I could then import the MPGE2 streams of both films and place them into Mydvd.

    I then added a cheezy backdrop and added 2 buttons (to represent each film).

    After the agonising wait, I felt rather chuffed cos it came out OK, but vowed never to go through the heartache again.....LOL

    I think, you could manage it using TMPGenc Dvd Auhtor, but I think you will need to use it in conjunction with a compression tool first - Dvd2one or Dvd Shrink for example.

    Dvd2one maybe the easiest to go with as you can select the OVERALL file size straight off the bat - so 2 films, do each film for 2.2Gb approx....

    See how you go on, you can use the TMPGenc Dvd Author guide at http://www.chrismccann.co.uk and pull out the bits and pieces there that you need......

    Got me intrigued now, actually I think I may try it this weekend - maybe on something like Ice Age and Monsters Inc......_X_X_X_X_X_[small]Beware of the Pixies - they move in over night and turn your life upside down

    [/small]
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2003
  5. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I havent read anyone elses reply cuz im lazy, but try this Rotary:

    - Rip both DVD's to seperate folders (dont compress)
    - Join using TMPGEnc DVD Author (help is in my signature under user guides)
    - Use the option there to allow multiple DVD titles on one disc (again in user guide)
    - compress the new output created by TMPGEnc DVD Author (with sub menus linking to both DVD's)
    - Burn as normal

    Let me know if you get into difficulty. Glad to see your backing all your porn up ;-O LOL ;-)
     
  6. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi all,

    Let me say thank you EVERYONE for the imput its great! hey oriphus cheers for reading my post - get off your ass dude! LOL and on the porn a mans got to do what a mans got to do! espacially at my age 38...

    ok, i see what you mean at 2.2 gig baabaa - ummmm? but with the shrink god i was going to strip it to bit, just main movie chop credits as much as possible to see? and to find out wht the actual quality will be like now the dvd shrink has this analyse feature to make it better on the end product!

    also trying this so instaed of paying a buck or a pound for a dvd-r its only costing half the price! as you got 2 for the price of one! NICE!

    Thx...
     
  7. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Good point, I am more conversant with Dvd2one than Dvd Shrink, but I should of realised that I have also used Dvd Shrink and that would probably be needed if you required to edit bits out of the main VOBS.......

    I think Oriphus nailed it (surprise, surprise...LOL) especially with the porn thing (done some VCD to dvd with Mydvd with a super backdrop....LOL).....

    I think the order that Oriphus suggessted is correct, I may have just got the process a little back to front.....

    Let us know how you get on.....
     
  8. DSYF3R

    DSYF3R Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The other way to do this is to rip the movie vobs, demux using "VobEdit" then use DVDlab www.mediachance.com to put the movies together, it can handle up to 99 titles on the one disc. As for the quality a neighbour of mine has a Phillips standalone DVD recorder and can put up to 6 hours on one disc, and I must say the quality was still pretty good, much better than VCDs..
     
  9. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Yeah, 6 hours will be about 70% compression, so i wouldnt really fancy watching it. I can empathise with it saving DVD's and possibly handiness, but in relative terms, it would look like some sort of Dali painting on my 60" projector, which is none too good :D
     
  10. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi all

    Ok got problem? this is what i got i have 2 dvd's ripped down to movies only! in 2 folders! i chopped start/end credits off! ok so i put these into DVD AUTHOR one by one and the sound wont load and does not come out to authored vobs when dvd author has finished?

    BUT! when i ripp the 2 movies to there own folders to start with the ripped down and cut vobs play sound in powerDVDxp ?

    anyone throw some light on this no sound when i load thwm to dvd author?

    Thx...

    ALSO DO I NEED TO KEEP BOTH SOUND FILES?
    AC3 6CH english
    AC3 2CH english

    or can i just use one? gain some extra meg cut off !!!

    Thx..

    EDIT

    I am at 63% compression ? is this good? for each film!

    also! if i use cut start/end credits off i loose the use of ANALYSE feature!!! for better quality !!!!

    thx..

     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2003
  11. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    63% is not great, but doable. Get rid of the AC3 6ch sound and keep the two channel, that will save you a couple of hundred MB. Not sure on the sound, sorry
     
  12. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi all

    whats the difference in this ac3 2ch and ac3 6ch ? just quality? or will i get problems with stand alone player?

    thx....
     
  13. baabaa

    baabaa Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    The audio shouldn't really cause any issues with the standalone.....

    The 2 channel is quite commonly used for directors commentary but it all depends on the disc, the last thing you want is the director rabbiting his/her way through the movie......and of course will cut off a few meg compared to the 6 channel.....

    I am just wondering about your sound issue.....maybe worth just putting one film through dvd author first just to see if it retains it.......just thinking it may be that the audio off the original discs is located at different addresses.....if you know what I mean....
     
  14. Oriphus

    Oriphus Senior member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    6,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    AC3 6ch is surround and AC3 2ch is stereo. Make sure as BaaBaa says, that the AC2 is a movie audio and not some director crap. Also, i think you could save yourself around 5% in compression with the deleting the AC3 6ch, that equates to 10% over both movies. Quite a bit. See how u get on anyway ;-)
     
  15. malum

    malum Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I don't think I've ever seen a movie that had AC3 six channel and AC3 stereo for the same sound track. It would be pointless as 6 channel is automatically down-mixed to stereo if you don't have a surround sound amp.

    The only movies that have a stereo soundtrack and a six channel of the same thing are music concerts where the stereo is uncompressed PCM for maximum sound quality. In which case it takes up more space than the AC3 soundtrack anyway.

    DTS soundtracks cannot be down-mixed by ordinary amps but even they have the choice of DTS or sic channel AC3 rather than a stereo track
     
  16. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi all

    Thank you all for advice and comments all are excellant! but i am stuck now with this sound problem?

    Ok got problem? this is what i got i have 2 dvd's ripped down to movies only! in 2 folders! i chopped start/end credits off! ok so i put these into DVD AUTHOR one by one and the sound wont load and does not come out to authored vobs when dvd author has finished?

    BUT! when i ripp the 2 movies to there own folders to start with the ripped down and cut vobs play sound in powerDVDxp ?

    anyone throw some light on this no sound when i load thwm to dvd author?

    Is there anyone out there who can throw somw ripped dvd vobs into there own dvd author just to see if its just me or it is doing it with all of us? if you could let me know your personnel finds that would be great!

    Thank you...
    p.s. anyone know the latest version dvd author is?

    Thx...
     
  17. memcco

    memcco Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    there is another option. you could run each of your movies through dvd2svcd. under frameserver choose cvd (352x480). under bitrate set it up for 3 cd's. under audio choose to not convert - use original audio. do each one then use TMPGEnc DVD Author. the menu creator is very cool. the quality is fantastic this way. i put 2 dvd's on one with svcd quality all the time and view them on a 42" sony widescreen plasma tv...awesome.
     
  18. Rotary

    Rotary Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hi all

    i am still stuck on why these vobs wont put the sound in them when i place into dvd author? all vobs play fine when played in powerdvdxp!

    search your brains guys! anyone else tried this?

    Thx...
     
  19. AlphaDog

    AlphaDog Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    This may be out of line but i've palced 2 and 3 movies with scenes selection and menus on 1 DVD using DVDLab, quality was ok on a 30incher.

    Good luck
     

Share This Page