1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Turion vs Intel

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by angelosbg, Dec 12, 2007.

  1. angelosbg

    angelosbg Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Could you please suggest me which one of two should I prefer?Because I would like to buy a laptop.Can I trust Turion 64x2 or Intel Core 2 duo is far better?
     
  2. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    That's not the easiest of questions to answer, but if you can find a laptop in your price range with a Core 2 Duo T7200 in it, I'd go with that, they're pretty damn fast.
     
  3. GrandpaBW

    GrandpaBW Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,737
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    And expensive. :)
     
  4. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Well, high performance doesn't come cheap. If the Turion X2 is much cheaper then that's obviously just as good a deal, but my knowledge of the laptop market is limited as I don't own one myself.
     
  5. GTR35

    GTR35 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ahh...i'm going crazy here...i've never seen a Turion laptop in SA...come Celeron, and C2D...that it...i really don't know if AMD's Turion is faster than C2D...or is Intel far better when it come to both?
     
  6. GrandpaBW

    GrandpaBW Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,737
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    My knowledge is highly limited too, but I have ordered an laptop, for my wife for Christmas. It has the 64-bit 1.9 GHz AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-58 processor, and when I find out if it is any good, I will let you know. :)

    My wife isn't a gamer. She will use it for the net, and for a word processor and probably data base work for her church records.

    I will strip most of what is on it, and put some good programs on it. Unfortunately, it comes with Vista Premium, and I don't believe I can do a format C: and put Windows XP on it. :(
     
  7. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Probably not with most laptops these days....
     
  8. GTR35

    GTR35 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    how come some shops they can change it for you...for cash of course...
     
  9. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I've never seen such a feature, but if one does exist, then the XP drivers will be available, somewhere...
     

Share This Page