1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[Tutorial]Burning PS2 games that give disk read error or skip

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by Stoan, Oct 31, 2004.

  1. Stoan

    Stoan Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ive been a long time lurker of these forums and found there are a lot of questions about backing games up, well I dont have the answers, but I can provide relief in one area. Specifically swap booting and burning techniques. I dont care if you post this all over the internet just give me some cred :D. The infos free.

    Ok heres a short tutorial that I came up with after extensive googling searching forums,

    coasters etc. Ok I have a v7(sorry bout that) ps2 w/no solder mod and magic swap disks. I burnt using

    DVD+R/RW and they work just fine. This tutoral pertains to all PS2 (Silver-bottomed and

    purple-bottomed games.) Now you should know how to boot them, that isnt what this tutorial

    is about. This tutorial will address the fact of which program I used and what setting

    worked fine. Ok I used alcohol 120 and weverything worked fine except the games skipped

    and lagged like heck and the ps2 said something about not being ablt to read my discs.

    Well heres the fix to that and it produces perfect results.

    Put ur game in and:

    Open up alcohol and go to:

    [​IMG]

    Click on general
    This will open up:

    [​IMG]

    Then click reading on the left side

    [​IMG]

    Where it says "Default DPM measuring Precision" put it on high.

    [​IMG]

    Now on the left side where it says "Data type setting"
    Click it and set it to Playstation 2

    [​IMG]

    Click the box that says data position measurement so that it is no longer greyed outand set it to "high"

    [​IMG]

    Hit ok and rip the game and burn to a DVD+R or the DVD-R

    I hope this helps post any questions.
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2004
  2. dizzel

    dizzel Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I just tried to do this with GTA SA and still keep getting disc read errors. Any suggestions or did I do it wrong btw my alcohol 120 is a trial version
     
  3. Stoan

    Stoan Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ill get a hold of a version of it and try it out. I was having problems w/Devil May Cry2 skipping and the above method fixed it. But ill try and answer your question as soon as possible.
     
  4. mrrad53

    mrrad53 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey Stoan man it worked for me, got a perfect copy using alcohol with your settings, and the funny thing is its on a -rw I used ritek before with decryptor and got all the read errors and everything, gonna try alcohol for everything for awhile,, anyway thanks again man!! ..............Lenny
     
  5. Stoan

    Stoan Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    What game? And btw id suggest using the latest alcohol120.
     
  6. mrrad53

    mrrad53 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    San Andreas ,yes its the latest alcohol 120, 192 build 1705 I never used alcohol before only decryptor but I used your settings and got awsome results...Lenny
     
  7. dizzel

    dizzel Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I used hp +r I gotta get to work what am I doing wrong? Did all the steps listed above what speed did you burn at?
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2004
  8. Stoan

    Stoan Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    4x Ima try with my friends -R burner later this week
     
  9. dizzel

    dizzel Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    are my dvd the problem?
     
  10. Stoan

    Stoan Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Not sure its kind of a hit or miss thing. But ill do some testing and narrow things down.
     
  11. dizzel

    dizzel Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    After you do everything listed above you go to Copy Dvd and thats it or Am I skipping something? I'm kinda new to this
     
  12. Stoan

    Stoan Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yea then after you copy it just burn it.
     
  13. DMuRDa

    DMuRDa Guest

    im wondering if my dvd burner can burn DVD-R...it says my burner is a Philips DVD+RW DVD 8601
     
  14. mrrad53

    mrrad53 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  15. agentcar

    agentcar Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey, i have one question, can you use DVD-RW for this?? I'm asking because i dont't want to waste a DVD-R disc if it doesn't work out. I usually use Fujifilm. Wich DVD-R are the best? If anybody know, i would appreciate it if somebody could tell me. Thanks a lot. I hope thos method works, because ive tryed so many others, which all failed. I have another question, do u need a mod chip or something else for this to work, or do u just burn the disc as you said, and put it in the PS2, and will it work???
     
  16. agentcar

    agentcar Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Oh, I another question, after you modify all these setting, which button on the side do you press? Sorry for all the questions, i just really want to burn a game for a friend.
     
  17. agentcar

    agentcar Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ?IM REALLY CONFUSED?
     
  18. mrrad53

    mrrad53 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hold on agentcar you got to modify the playstation some how , you cant just put a copyied game in the playstation , it wont play
     
  19. agentcar

    agentcar Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sorry, so theres no way? Whats the easiest way to modify it? Because i dont want to spend 70 bucks on a mod chip, thats too much, and i dont know how to install it.
     
  20. agentcar

    agentcar Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I think the mod chip might be easier because you dont have to tamper with the playstation everytime you want to play a game.
     

Share This Page