1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

TUTORIAL: How To Open Ports and Forward them to your Router

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by tEChniiQue, Aug 19, 2005.

  1. tEChniiQue

    tEChniiQue Guest

    The first half of this tutorial is intended to show you how to open ports on your PC. The second half will show you how to forward those ports to your router so that outside sources can access them.

    Tutorial Created Using Windows XP Pro…If you’re not using this O/S your screenshots may look slightly different.

    Written By: tEChniiQue
    COurtesy of: http://www.xtreme-source.com
    http://www.teammodders.com

    [bold]2 GREAT TORRENT CLIENTS TO USE:[/bold]
    [bold]BitTornado[/bold]= http://www.afterdawn.com/software/p2p_software/p2p_applications/bittornado.cfm
    [bold]uTorrent[/bold]= http://www.afterdawn.com/software/p2p_software/p2p_applications/utorrent.cfm
    ---------------------------------------------
    [bold]Part 1[/bold]

    Go to -> My Network Places -> View Network Connections
    *Now right click on the LAN Connection that provides your internet access and select Properties:

    [​IMG]
    ----------------------------------------------
    Click Advanced -> Settings

    [​IMG]
    -------------------------------------------------
    Now click Advanced -> Highlight your internet Connection -> Click settings
    A window should open similar to the one below but would more than likely have existing ports open on your system listed.

    [​IMG]
    --------------------------------------------------
    Click add and you will see this set settings windows appear

    [​IMG]
    -----------------------------------------------------
    *Description of Service: Usually the program name (abbr.) and/or the port number being opened
    * Name or IP address: Just what is says. If you don’t know your PC’s name just put the IP address.
    [bold]Note:[/bold] If you don’t have a Static IP address on your PC then everything you’re doing can and will be ineffective if and when your IP address changes. Set a Static IP for your system
    *External Port/Internal Port number for this service: Unless you know exactly what having two different ports here consist of, keep them the same.
    *TCP: TCP enables two hosts to establish a connection and exchange streams of data.
    *UDP: provides very few error recovery services, offering instead a direct way to send and receive datagram’s over an IP network.
    [bold]NOTE:[/bold] Between TCP & UDP make sure you set the port for the type you need. If one port needs both types then you’ll have to the go through these settings twice.
    -------------------------------------------------------

    [bold]Part 2[/bold]

    This section was will show you how to forward ports you’ve just opened to your router. Since I don’t own every router in existence, I’ll show you what it takes for the LinsysWireless Broadband Router to have ports forwarded to it. The concept is the same for all routers and once you familiarize yourself with the steps, you should be able to navigate through your router settings with ease.

    First you need to access your router. Open Internet Explorer and type 192.168.1.1  Enter. A user name and password box should appear like the one below. The factory password for this router is “admin” (without the quotes), leave the user name blank. Some routers may be "admin" as the user name with the password area blank. Check the documentation that came with your router or refer yourself to the company website to figure out what this is for your router.
    [bold]NOTE:[/bold] I highly recommend you changing that password from the factory setting ASAP if it still exists.

    [​IMG]
    ------------------------------------------
    Once you type your password, the router settings should be displayed

    [​IMG]
    -----------------------------------------
    Select Application & Gaming ->

    [​IMG]
    ------------------------------------------
    This screen is very easy to handle once you get familiar with it.
    *Application: Input a small abbreviation so you know what program you’re forwarding the ports for
    *Start to End
    Many times, a program will need a range of ports forwarded (i.e. 21000-21005)
    Under start, type the initial port and under end type the last port of the range.
    *Protocol: I explained what TCP & UDP were earlier, here all you do is select the one that the port utilizes
    *IP Address: I can’t stress enough “create yourself a Static IP”. Here you input your current IP. Like was saying before; you complete this process and reboot your PC, the IP might change. Therefore, this setting would not be accurate and your ports will no longer be forwarded.
    *Enable: Self Explanatory

    Here is one good thing about the forwarding part. Let’s say you have a range of 10 consecutive ports to forwards (1100 – 1110). For the router settings you just type the start and finish but you’ll have to do each individual one and if the selection is both for all, you just doubled your work. No biggie, right?!

    Save your settings and restart your system.
    _____________________________________________________________________

    [bold]MESSAGE:[/bold]

    Obviously various people have different routers. So, if you post what your router's type and model number are as well as what
    program(s) you are trying to access and I will do my best to PM you the info you need to get set up properly.
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 4, 2009
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. PimpDawg

    PimpDawg Guest

    So that's how you foward ports :)

    uniique1 posts another good tutorial, when is it going to stop!
  4. tEChniiQue

    tEChniiQue Guest

    You're crazy man...I'm just trying to keep up with you!! LOL.
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 11, 2005
  5. daghstryd

    daghstryd Guest

  6. Alien13

    Alien13 Guest

    Cool, ive been looking for an easy to follow guide on port forwarding :)
  7. tEChniiQue

    tEChniiQue Guest

    @Alien 13

    I'd like to think it's easy to follow ;).
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 11, 2005
  8. coco999

    coco999 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for replying again i have looked at my ip ad on the computer and on a hub of DC++ and they are different should i go to the link

    If you don’t know how to create a Static IP address, go here:
    http://www.portforward.com/networking/staticip.htm
  9. tEChniiQue

    tEChniiQue Guest

    There's nothing wrong with that. They should be different. Your router is a Gateway for your Workgroup and your PC is your PC. If for some strange reason they had the same IP, they would conflict and one would not be able to access the network unless 1 of the 2 IPs were changed.
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 11, 2005
  10. coco999

    coco999 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for replying. So I do part 1 in the manual you sent me ( how to open ports) I do not have a router so i presume part 2 does not apply to me???
  11. tEChniiQue

    tEChniiQue Guest

    Correct. Do you have a firewall enabled?
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 11, 2005
  12. coco999

    coco999 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    only nis should i disable this before carrying on
  13. tEChniiQue

    tEChniiQue Guest

    No but if you have problems..I would disable firewalls. Some people advise disable all firewalls regardless but with that being said, do what's best for you. Can I ask, what program are you trying to open ports for?
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 11, 2005
  14. coco999

    coco999 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    DC++ i Can only run on passive mode not active.
    Which ip ad should i enter, the one which my pc tells me i have or the one that the hubs on DC++ are telling me i have??? Again many thanks for replying
  15. tEChniiQue

    tEChniiQue Guest

    That program needs port 1412TCP 1412UDP & I also saw ports 375-425TCP & UDP.
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 11, 2005
  16. coco999

    coco999 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    so i am still going to use manual 1 and enter the tcps you sent me and which ip ad
  17. tEChniiQue

    tEChniiQue Guest

    Gotcha, goodluck...just post if you're having issues.
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 11, 2005
  18. J-Kwon

    J-Kwon Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    uniique1, good guide but i have netgear and it's alit bit more complicated than the Linksys site. So if someone who ones a netgear router i would be extremely happy if someone could come up with a similar one to this one by uniique1.

    I have created static IP's for all my computers :U

    But I'm having trouble opening 6881-6889, grc.com shields up!! is still saying they are STEALTH

    Thanks J
  19. tEChniiQue

    tEChniiQue Guest

    Thanks. What model# of Net Gear Router do you have and what program are you trying to forward ports for?
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 11, 2005
  20. J-Kwon

    J-Kwon Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Netgear DG834 and Bitlord v1.1

    Any help???? (p.s tried portforward.com but no luck)
  21. PimpDawg

    PimpDawg Guest

    It is amazing how much faster you can download torrent files if you open up your ports. I almost doubled my speed...

Share This Page