1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

tv tuner cards

Discussion in 'Digital TV - UK & Europe' started by born2ride, Apr 8, 2007.

  1. born2ride

    born2ride Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,069
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    which tv tuner card are good ..i am looking for one and would like to find a decent one not overly priced.all input welcome. i have never use or bought one before.thanks
     
  2. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I've been thinking about getting one of the Plextor units. Besides the tuner card you have the capture features for handling files from your digital cameras, VCRs and the like. Those are relatively inexpensive. Watch for warnings about operating system compatibility. Some of the Plextors don't work with Windows Media Center edition of XP. Then there's the ATI units you can get for HDTV and some have remotes. As you probably know, ATI is a big name in computer electronics, so is Plextor. Here's a page at Newegg with some of the styles I was talking about.
    http://www.newegg.com/Store/SubCategory.aspx?SubCategory=47&name=Video-Devices-TV-Tuners
    Canopus and Pinnacle are some other brands I like. Check the options and see what fits the bill best for what you want to do. Shop around with PriceGrabber, Newegg doesn't always have the best prices and some other vendors may have a better variety of what you're looking for.
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2007
  3. born2ride

    born2ride Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,069
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    the main thing is watch tv & some recording. also copying vhs tapes to dvd...
    and i have Windows Media Center edition of XP i believe
    edit some dam spelling errors
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2007
  4. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    A friend tried one of the Plextors and the vendor didn't tell him they didn't work with MCE. I went to the website and that was the first thing I noticed. As usual he checked with me when things didn't work. LOL MCE rules out most, if not all, of the Plextors for you. Look over the ATI, Canopus and Pinnacle units and see what you think. There's others, so don't let those limit you. Those are just the ones I like personally.
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2007
  5. born2ride

    born2ride Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,069
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
  6. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2007
  7. born2ride

    born2ride Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,069
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    thats some good information i did not know about cards
    i will check those cards out later today.Thanks
     
  8. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You're welcome. Hope you find what you're looking for, remember to keep an eye on supported operating systems.
     
  9. born2ride

    born2ride Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,069
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
  10. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I'd say yes with all the cable, S-Video, and component connectors, but ask a company rep to be sure of its full capabilities. It's not shown on egg, but there's an upgrade. If this is the card you're interested in, it's time to start asking the company reps specific questions. Here's a link to the kit and there's contact info on the page as well. You've got me thinking about one of these. LOL
    http://www.hauppauge.com/pages/products/data_pvr500mcekit.html
     
  11. born2ride

    born2ride Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,069
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    thanks off to bother the company!!!
     
  12. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You're welcome. Let me know how it turns out. That looks like a nice card.
     
  13. born2ride

    born2ride Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,069
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    pacman777
    finally called. ok the tvpr 150 single tuner no remote. the 150mcekit all the same with remote.tvpr500 is same as 150 plus radio tuner and 2tv tuners no remote. tvpr500kit has remote and all other funtion
    150-49.99
    150mce kit 99.99
    500 139.00
    500mce kit 179.00
    the 500 kit is nice i dont know if i want to spend the extra money
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2007
  14. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    That's always the hard part, making up your mind how much to pay. The question is, how much do you intend to use the new part of the system and will the extra bells and whistles make that much difference? Then pay accordingly.
     
  15. born2ride

    born2ride Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,069
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    pacman777
    i broke down and got the pvr-500 kit coming i will update when installed and working smooth.lol if anything ever goes easy
     
  16. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Was that with or without the remote? Either way it sounds like a sweet deal. Now you'll be able to tell me first hand how much work it takes to install one and get all the software working. Actually I've done it, but not with that particular card. It's just a plug in deal and lock it down. Just takes a few minutes for installation. It usually takes longer to set up the software and get familiarized with it's operation. Your's is nicer than what I normally deal with. It'll be interesting to get your take on that model.
     
  17. born2ride

    born2ride Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,069
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    pacman777
    i went for the remote model it was 164.00 the cheapest.i read horror stories on the install and and other say all went smooth. i will let you know
    EDIT does anyone know how or what is need to hook up a second monitor? to have 2 channels going?
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2007
  18. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    If you're wanting to use 2 monitors, that's a different ball game and relates to your graphics card. The capture card is for input. Your's allows for a second A/V input.

    You may want to check out the Haupauge website for updates and the 3rd party applications needed to run the setup. There's links to Sage TV and the others. There's tech notes, tips and other things you may find interesting.
    http://www.haupauge.com/pages/support/support_mce.html

    You need the free Adobe reader to open the guides. They're in PDF format.

    Quick Installation Guide: (you should have this one)
    WinTV-PVR-500 MCE Kit
    http://hauppauge.lightpath.net/manuals/qi-pvr150500mcekit_v3.4.pdf

    Here's the manual for adding the second A/V input. This is for the second A/V input.
    A/V Cable Set
    http://www.haupauge.com/pdfs/av_cable_set_rev3.pdf

     
  19. born2ride

    born2ride Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,069
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    thanks for the information
     
  20. PacMan777

    PacMan777 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You're welcome. Like I said earlier, I've not worked with one as elaborate as you have. I'm interested in your opinion when you finish getting it set up.
     

Share This Page