1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

UMD disc at all times

Discussion in 'Sony PSP - Mod and firmware discussion' started by CLS63AMG, May 28, 2007.

  1. CLS63AMG

    CLS63AMG Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    one question...i dunt get why we need a umd disc in the umd at all times when u run iso files?
     
  2. staxx

    staxx Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    to trick the system to think that the game in the umd is the iso that your playing
     
  3. CLS63AMG

    CLS63AMG Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    what if u dont use one and the iso still works?
     
  4. 1OFDEM

    1OFDEM Regular member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I've never needed a UMD to play my psx ISOs. I currently have two on my psp (Bloody Roar 2 and Chrono Trigger) and they work just fine.
     
  5. CLS63AMG

    CLS63AMG Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    lol im just wondering tho, if i dunt use umds when playing iso files, and they still work, will that damage my psp?
     
  6. chanman1

    chanman1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    No it wont, but most PSP isos don't work w/o a umd, so just keep it in there, it's not like it's hurting your psp
     
  7. jonnymint

    jonnymint Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    some psp iso's will work without a umd but not many.
     
  8. StangMch1

    StangMch1 Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    you can run iso's without the umd, at least with 3.03OE-C by booting in recovery mode and turning NOUMD on
     
  9. scott2k7

    scott2k7 Guest

    exactly turn on no-umd in config in recovery i think thats were it is and then after that has happened u dont need a umd in i never have umd games in unless i dont have that game on my memory card like vcs cos its 1.6gb even on 9 compression and it never works so i only have that in sometimes but i dont go on my psp much
     
  10. scott2k7

    scott2k7 Guest

    exactly turn on no-umd in config in recovery i think thats were it is and then after that has happened u dont need a umd in i never have umd games in unless i dont have that game on my memory card like vcs cos its 1.6gb even on 9 compression and it never works so i only have that in sometimes but i dont go on my psp much
     

Share This Page