1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Unable to burn ANY brand of CDRW

Discussion in 'CD-R' started by Fuego, Aug 9, 2004.

  1. Fuego

    Fuego Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I've spent months researching this problem without ever posting my question for fear of being blasted by the powers that be!
    I have exhausted all avenues and I'm in desperate need of help.
    The problem: I CAN burn CDRs without a hitch using ANY software (inc.Nero, MMJB, Roxio etc) and ANY brand of cd but I have NEVER been able to burn CDRWs even at speed x2.
    I've tried TDK, Verbatim, Memorex, Imation, Platinum, HP and many more but without success.
    At the end of every attempt it states: "Burn Successful" but the disk shows blank. I thought I'd found the answer on this forum but it turned out the solution to Skizz20's problem was simply he was using cheap media!
    I've tried burning at all speeds, mainly low (x2 and x4) but I get the same result; burn successful but blank disk. I can burn CDRs so why not CDRWs? It's driving me mad.
    I'm a photographer struggling for space on HD of my laptop and need to burn CDRWs or I'll end up with thousands of CDR disks with only 30-odd photos on each one - nightmare to manage. I have to get CDRWs burning!
    I've consulted many "computer people" but nobody understands why. I even rang Toshiba in the States but they wanted to charge me 50 dollars just to talk me through inserting my recovery disk which I already knew wasn't the answer.
    I've searched the Toshiba website for SD-R2102 driver updates in case that's the prob but didn't find any.
    Spec:
    Toshiba Satellite
    Intel Pentium III processor
    1.10 GHz
    512MB RAM
    Toshiba DVD-ROM SD-R2102
    System:
    Windows XP Home
    Version 2002 Service Pack 1
    (NB: Laptop came with OS above)

    Please help asap - I've got a headache from hitting my head on that wall so many times!





     
  2. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Hi,

    Have you tried a firmware update for your drive? Sometimes when your drive works for some media and not others this will do the trick.

    What is the current firmware revision for your drive? Nero Info Tool will give you this information under the "Drive" tab.

    It appears there are two hardware revisions for your drive so hopefully Info Tools will list which revision your drive is so we can determine what firmware is corrct for your drive :)
     
  3. Fuego

    Fuego Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    What a relief to receive some help and thank you very much for your speedy response!
    Firmware version: 1317

     
  4. Fuego

    Fuego Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I found this on the firmware site:
    "Patched 1317 RPC-1 or Patched 1316 RPC-1 (newest) (ONLY for drives with 13xx firmware)"

    The site states it's for advanced users only (which I'm not;) and use at your own risk! As I really haven't a clue what I'm doing I'd be grateful if you could confirm (or otherwise) that this is what I need to download.

    Many thanks.
     
  5. Clashcity

    Clashcity Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I've been having the exact same problem except the media are CD-R, Maxell & Verbatim. I have both Nero and Roxio ECDC and they both recognize the CD-R's.

    Here'e the info from nero info tool --

    Drive:ATAPI CDRW 52X24
    Type:CDRW
    Firmware Version:K.GC
    Buffer Size:2mb

    any help will be appreciated.
     
  6. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Hi guys,

    The firmware versions at rpc1.org are very confusing so I'm extremely hesitiant to recommend one until we know exactly which hardware revision your respective drives are.

    If both of you could provide me with the exact model laptop you have we may be able to dig something up at Toshiba's website :)
     
  7. Clashcity

    Clashcity Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Nephilim,

    I actually have a desktop - gateway.
    The burner is an I/O Magic 52x24x52 cdrw
     
  8. Fuego

    Fuego Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hello again:)

    Laptop model:

    Toshiba Satellite 1805 S274
    Intel Pentium III processor
    1.10 GHz
    512MB RAM
    Toshiba DVD-ROM SD-R2102


     
  9. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Hi Fuego,

    I checked out Toshiba's (less than stellar) webstie and couldn't find anything about whether your model satellite has a revision 1 or 2 drive so I can't in good faith tell you just to pick one and go for it. My best suggestion would be to get in contact with Toshiba tech support and see what they have to say about the issue and/or if they can tell what revision drive you have.
     
  10. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
  11. Fuego

    Fuego Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi Nephilim,

    Don't know if this is relevant but I've just noticed in Nero Info Tool, it says: "ASPI file(s) are missing".
    Should I find/download it/them? If so, where from?
    Thanks for all your efforts. You're absolutely right about Toshiba's website; I have several Tosh web links that were pre-installed on my PC - and most are dead links! It says a lot about the company.
    Below is more detailed system info; does any of it help?


    OS Name Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
    Version 5.1.2600 Service Pack 1 Build 2600
    OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
    System Manufacturer TOSHIBA
    System Model Satellite 1805
    System Type X86-based PC
    Processor x86 Family 6 Model 8 Stepping 10 GenuineIntel ~1095 Mhz
    BIOS Version/Date TOSHIBA Version 1.80, 2/20/2002
    SMBIOS Version 2.3
    Windows Directory C:\WINDOWS
    System Directory C:\WINDOWS\System32
    Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1
    Locale United States
    Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "5.1.2600.1106 (xpsp1.020828-1920)"
    Total Physical Memory 512.00 MB
    Available Physical Memory 237.19 MB
    Total Virtual Memory 1.87 GB
    Available Virtual Memory 1.46 GB
    Page File Space 1.38 GB
    Page File C:\pagefile.sys

    Drive D:
    Description CD-ROM Drive
    Media Type CD-ROM
    Name TOSHIBA DVD-ROM SD-R2102
    Manufacturer (Standard CD-ROM drives)
    Status OK
    Transfer Rate Not Available
    SCSI Target ID 0
    PNP Device ID IDE\CDROMTOSHIBA_DVD-ROM_SD-R2102________________1317____\3233373332323034393620202020202020202020
    Driver c:\windows\system32\drivers\cdrom.sys (5.1.2600.1106 (xpsp1.020828-1920), 46.38 KB (47,488 bytes), 8/17/2001 2:52 PM)


     
  12. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Hi Fuego,

    There's a possibility that installing an ASPI layer could resolve your issue.

    ForceASPI is a good one. Here's a link to the download and insrtuctions:

    http://forceaspi18.w.interia.pl/


    Let us know how it goes :)
     
  13. Fuego

    Fuego Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks Nephilim, I'm having a look at it but can you tell me if it's safe to go ahead and download or is there a chance I could cause any damage? I can't bear the thought of trying to solve one prob and creating another, esp as it's all codes and I wouldn't have a clue where to start to rectify the problem if it went pear-shaped. God I hate computers:0 What do you think? Easy to undo if it goes wrong?
     
  14. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Hey buddy,


    In the ForceASPI folder there's an batch file called DUMPASPI that when run will back up your current installation so you can later restore it by running RESTASPI. As an extra safeguard you can also set a windows restore point before you go ahead with the install.


    We can take a look at your current installation if you want to run ASPICHK and post the results. You can download it here:

    http://forceaspi18.w.interia.pl/aspichk.exe
     
  15. Fuego

    Fuego Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I hope I'm not driving you crazy with all my questions;-) but here's another one... how much space will that take up (roughly) to back up my installation? The whole reason I'm in this mess is due to lack of space and a need to burn CDRWs to make space so I have precious little to play with:-(
     
  16. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Questions are most welcome!

    It'll take up an insignificant amount of space, maybe 100KB or so :)
     
  17. Fuego

    Fuego Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Great thanks.
    This is current:
    WINASPI.DLL version 0.71
    WNASPI32.DLL version 0.71
    ASPI32.SYS Not installed
    WOWPOST.EXE Not installed

    I will back up my installation and download from ForceAspi tmrw (have to hit the sack now - was up all night photographing a Perseid meteor shower!)
    Goodnight and thanks again amigo;-)
     
  18. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2004
  19. Fuego

    Fuego Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi Neph,

    Been busy last few days but now ready to continue with CDRW burning problem.
    I've downloaded forceaspi and I've run Dumpaspi (it was v quick; hope I've done it properly) but not sure how to "set a Windows restore point" before installing Forceaspi. Could you pls explain?





    PS. Tu espanol es muy bien!
     
  20. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116

Share This Page