1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

unable to read part of a file dvd

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by 1goodson, Nov 6, 2007.

1. 1goodson

1goodson Member

i'm sure this has been asked many times before, hell even i might have asked it on here before. i've been encoding and burning dvd's for many years now, so i'm not really a newb, but i think this is a newb question. lately when i burn a dvd i get the same error almost every time during playback. "unable to read part of a file on DVD, playback may be affected" then it shuts off.

it was doing this real bad before, and i have no idea what i did but it worked fine again for a few months, now i'm back to it again. my dvd's also used to all skin and freeze, but with some tinkering i did manage to fix that. right now it's just this error. it will play over an hour on most of them before it does it.

i'm running a compaq f579wm AMD athlon64 with windows xp pro. i have ben trying convertxtodvd,dvdsanta, and nero and i get the same error almost all the time, some will play fine randomly. right now i'm using memorex which i know sucks, and i have used maxell before. the fancy verbatims and such are not sold in my area so i'm out of luck there.

i've recently got directx as i did'nt even have it before, i was hoping that would be the easy solution that i just forgot. oh yeah and i'm burning at 2.4x as i've been told it's the best speed for dvd+

if anyone can help with advice please do, or point me to this if it's been solved before. right now i feel like smashing my brand new notebook out of frustration!!

2. Rotary

Rotary Senior member

hi

playing a film most of the way through then a jerky end is bad/cheap media as you know and what may help abit is set the output size of each film smaller in convertxtodvd i use 4300 (so no burning on outer edge of dvdr - problem area) especially cheap media.