1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Updated firmware and dashboard, still get "play game"... liteon 74850c

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by duboy1, Oct 16, 2011.

  1. duboy1

    duboy1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I updated my dash to the newest version and then updated my firmware on my lite-on 74580c to the LTPlus-025-v2.0.bin, but I still get the "play game" message.

    Is it possible that my key is wrong? I thought if the key was wrong that it wouldnt even load to the dash?

    Any ideas?

    Thanks for any help!
     
  2. funksoulb

    funksoulb Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    If the key is wrong then no disc based games will play, not even originals. Is that's what's happening with you? I think (but I'm not sure) that you just get a "mixed media disc" message when you try and play a game when the key is incorrect. I don't think it says "play game" cos I'm fairly sure that it won't even recognise the disc as a game without the key.
     
  3. duboy1

    duboy1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    So to correct my previous post... it says "Play DVD", not "play game"

    I tried a dvd movie in it and that worked fine. But I tried a burnt game and it didnt work. It loads to a white screen with the xbox logo in the middle of the screen.

    I would assume my key is fine since the DVD movie played.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks!
     
  4. funksoulb

    funksoulb Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Actually, no, that is the same symptom of a lost key. The 360 will still play DVDs and CDs if the key is lost. It just won't play any disc based games and in your case, it's playing the video off the video partition of the game as if it was a DVD.

    Without testing more discs - and originals - it's hard to say for sure, but now that you've said that I do think it's a symptom of the key being lost. If so, I hope you made a back up cos then you can just reflash the drive. If the key is lost and you have no backup, then your 360 is just a DVD/CD player from now on unfortunately. Try an original game first though, cos if that does the same thing then I'd say it's almost certainly a lost key. If originals play, then the key is fine and either your burned game is bad or maybe you flashed the 360 back to stock by mistake.
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2011
  5. duboy1

    duboy1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I tested an old xbox 360 game. It did not boot.

    I was thinking, would the xbox be able update to the latest dashboard if the key was wrong? The key I used throughout the whole process was the same key I used before the newest update.

    Any thoughts?

    Thanks!
     
  6. zpaitsel

    zpaitsel Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'm going to guess you forgot to spoof your source to target and flashed it without a dvd key in the f/w under j/f i could be wrong but I would say you definately need to re-flash because they key has to be wrong.
     
  7. funksoulb

    funksoulb Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    In your first post, you said this: -

    So you updated the dashboard first, then you flashed the drive's firmware, so the key may have been fine up to the last stage where you flashed the drive and that's where things may have gone wrong.

    After everything you've said, I would say that the key being wrong is the likely cause of your problem.
     
  8. duboy1

    duboy1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hey thanks everyone for the responses. I finally got it working.

    You both were right... It was the key. It was between two keys and when I tried the other one, it worked fine.

    Thanks!
     
  9. duboy1

    duboy1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hey thanks everyone for the responses. I finally got it working.

    You both were right... It was the key. It was between two keys and when I tried the other one, it worked fine.

    Thanks!
     
  10. funksoulb

    funksoulb Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Cool man. Glad you got it working. At least you had the correct key saved! Make sure you keep a back up of it. :D
     

Share This Page