1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

updating firmware

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by kriskarst, Feb 16, 2008.

  1. kriskarst

    kriskarst Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I burn to my harddrive using DVD FAB HD 4. When I go to shrink, it finishes the eyncoding process then buffers and will not go any further. You can here the dvd drive kicking in and out but it won't write. Is this a problem with my drive or with the DVD Decrypter. Kris
     
  2. tripplite

    tripplite Guest

    try burning files with other software, or through my computer drag and drop files to a cd-r and see if it'll burn?
    if you CAN burn files with other software then lower your burning speed, try a different disc or new media!

    if your burner isn't working with any software and wont burn on any media check the cables (ata/ied/sata + 3 pin power)

    if that checks out good then uninstall the drivers/+ update your firmware





    btw: you dont burn to your hdd you RIP to it!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 16, 2008
  3. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    @kriskarst
    Does DVD Decrypter give you an error? Copy/paste it here so we can take a look at it.
    What discs are you using? Even though DVD Decrypter did not burn, DVD Shrink still saves the compilation to your HDD. Download ImgBurn and try to burn your DVD. If you get an error, save the log and post it here.
     
  4. kriskarst

    kriskarst Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok I have tried a different software, didnt work. i also slowed the writing speed and still can't get it to write. I don't get error messages simply because it just continues to try and finish writing (it will go all night). If it helps at all at the bottom where it displays messages it says Writing Lead...... and it is just stuck on that while the dvd drive just kicks in and out. It also freezes up and won't cancel to the point where I have to restart my computer. I am using Memorex 4.7 gb DVD-R. I have been burning for a long time and never had problems????????????
     
  5. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
  6. tripplite

    tripplite Guest

    ya post that error log
     
  7. kriskarst

    kriskarst Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sorry, I know this is a stupid Question but how do I update that. I click on firmware 1.07 then it ask me Run or save? Where do I go from here?
     
  8. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    No, no, the firmware 1.07 was for that particular burner, for the NEC.

    What burner do you have?

    Open DVD Decrypter , go to Tools->Drive->Check for firmware updates
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2008
  9. kriskarst

    kriskarst Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i have a gateway so whatever burner came with that
     
  10. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    That's helpful, since there's only been one Gateway computer manufactured...:~)
    Open DVD Decrypter, got at the top to Mode->ISO->Write. on the write hand side, at the top, DVD decrypter will display what burner you have and the firmware version:

    e.g NEC DVD_RW ND-3550A 1.07 (ATA)
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2008
  11. kriskarst

    kriskarst Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sorry Gateway GT5224
     
  12. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    How about do what I suggested, since you have DVD Decrypter installed?
     
  13. 7thsinger

    7thsinger Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    3,605
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Re-read Cyps post...follow that and post.

    It beats guessing.
     
  14. kriskarst

    kriskarst Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Firmware 1.00
     
  15. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    LOL!! Okay, for what burner? What is the burner's name?
     
  16. kriskarst

    kriskarst Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    It shows nothing on the right hand side but in the destination it shows HL-DT-ST DVD+-RW GSA-h21N
     
  17. kriskarst

    kriskarst Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I don't know George, Raul, I don't know the burners name it came with this computer:) I'll try and find the manuel it came with
     
  18. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
  19. kriskarst

    kriskarst Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am running XP
     
  20. cyprusrom

    cyprusrom Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I couldn't find any firmware update for that burner. The same burner comes also in Dell machines. There is firmware update for those, but I can't seem to find any for your burner.
    On the Gateway page that I linked you to, enter your PC's serial and see if you find anything.
     

Share This Page