1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Updating Firmware

Discussion in 'PS3' started by NJLowbrow, May 15, 2011.

  1. NJLowbrow

    NJLowbrow Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    My son had a Gen 1 PS3 that we upgraded the hard drive on and the unit ended up dying. He recently purchased a new PS3 and put the upgraded hard drive in it and the unit will not work. It's saying that we need to update the firmware, so I've downloaded it on to a portable drive under a file titled PS3 and sub folder titled UPDATE. When we run the new PS3 it isn't finding the folder to update the unit.

    Any ideas what we're doing wrong?
     
  2. Bawango

    Bawango Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Is the portable drive formatted to FAT32? This may be why its not detecting it.
     
  3. NJLowbrow

    NJLowbrow Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm note sure. How can I tell? It's currently loaded with a bunch of music files on it. If I format it to FAT32 will that screw up the other files?

    Thanks
     
  4. Bawango

    Bawango Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    -Go in to your PC
    -Open "My Computer" and leave that screen up. You will notice on "My Computer" you will have drives IE OS(C:) and possibly a few more if you have an external HDD hooked up like I do. For instance my external HDD is says Local Disc(F:).The reason I ask you to leave the "My Computer" screen up is when you insert the storage device your using, it will appear as a drive that was not there before. Once you figure out which drive the external device is, Right click on it and from the box you need to select "Properties".
    Another box should pop up with information. You should see under "Type:" it should say "Local Disc" and right beneath it is "File System" and beside it it should indicate "FAT32" or "NTFS". If it says "NTFS" you need to format it to "FAT32". You do this by exiting the box you currently have open. You need to again right click on the device drive and this time you need to select "Format...". From here a box shoul again pop up and you should be able to tell it that you want to format it to FAT32.
    Before you format, you may want to copy the file folder system you have on you external storage device onto your Desktop so you it saves you from having to have to re-download the OFW and re-create the folders. Once you have external storage device formatted, just copy what you had in back.
     
    Last edited: May 15, 2011
  5. NJLowbrow

    NJLowbrow Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the help - I think that we've got it squared away.
     
  6. Bawango

    Bawango Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Awesome :)
     

Share This Page