1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgradable Modchip

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by JThunder, Feb 8, 2007.

  1. JThunder

    JThunder Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    From what I've been reading, some people are saying Cyclo-wiz is upgradable and other people are saying WiiKey will be the first upgradable modchip for the Wii. I already decided to purchase a Cyclo-wiz modchip but am confused about its upgradability feature. So is the Cyclo-wiz upgradable or not? Thanks for any replies.
     
  2. tabletpc

    tabletpc Guest

    the cyclo wiz is upgradable according to the web page weather this is true or not has to be seen also with the recent discoverys from several gamers and even a 2 month warning from a german youtube video on the wii security older wii's can run the new chips but newer wiis need to be hacked still so the chip functions

     
  3. bhetrick

    bhetrick Active member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
  4. JThunder

    JThunder Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Thanks for the replies. Yeah, the website did mention upgradability but some people are saying that the chip 'could' be upgraded, however teamcyclops didn't decide to implement it themselves.. or something like that.

    Also, I'm just buying the chip to play my backups, so will the upgradability feature even matter? I'm not concerned about PAL or Japan's NTSC games, but I just want to be able to play US NTSC game backups with the chip. So is the Cyclo-wiz enough for me?
     
  5. azoozoo

    azoozoo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    how do u upgrade the wii by dvd. do u download the upgrade from a site and burn it or what, vcan some1 plz explain? thx
     
  6. Ednasaunt

    Ednasaunt Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    To upgrade the Wii with DVD, you have to put the Cyclo Wiz into programming mode and then load the update via DVD. The Developers bulit the capability to upgrade the chip but haven't written any upgrades as yet...they are working on it now. The reason being so that the Cyclo Wiz can work on all versions of Wii. At the moment it is only compatible with Chipsets D2A & DMS which is about 95% of all Wii sold to date. There is a compatibility chart with serial numbers relating to Chipsets D2A and DMS at http://www.techwizad.co.uk/wii.htm . Chipset DB2 will be compatible as soon as the upgrade has been written.

     

Share This Page