1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgrading GPU & CPU

Discussion in 'Building a new PC' started by Professor_Sleeth, May 10, 2013.

1. Professor_Sleeth

Professor_Sleeth Member

I'll be upgrading my pc shortly so I'll be able to play most games on highest settings. I'm not an expert when it comes to computers. Here's what I'm thinking

GPU: Asus GTX 650 Ti Boost 2gb RAM
    CPU: AMD FX 8350 8-core 4 GHz

I'll need a new motherboard as I have a AM3 socket motherboard because I have AMD Athlon II X2 3.2 GHz Dual-core processor. I was thinking this:
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3

Atm I have 4gb of RAM which should be OK for now, but in the near future I'll be upgrading to 8gb.

So are these components alright. Can you suggest anything better?

2. ddp

ddp Moderator Staff Member

3. john179

john179 Active member

AMD will play all the latest games as they are built for games in mind so great choice of CPU and same for GPU great choice go with it games will rock on your PC

4. megadunderhead

megadunderhead Regular member

Honestly ask yourself these questions before you purchase.

1. is the game or application that i am going to be running processor dependent or graphics card dependent

a excellent example of this is doom 3 you can run doom 3 on a hp pentium 4 laptop with a 32 meg graphics card because it depends on the cpu not on the graphics card.

2. also look at max ram for the board if you can go to 16 gig at time of purchase go for it better to spend the money now versus in a few months noticing you should have purchased the memory when you bought the board.

3. cheaper is not always better ( especially with hd graphics cards make sure the card actually plugs into the computers power supply not a low voltage card like the hd radeon 6450 where it does hd but cannot handle high frame rate do to not enough voltage)

these simple things will help you build a happy machine

5. ddp