1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Upgrading HDD on Softmod Xbox v1.6

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by GamerKidd, Aug 23, 2012.

  1. GamerKidd

    GamerKidd Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm trying to upgrade to a larger hard drive on my softmod xbox v1.6, sometimes I like to play the classics, but I'm running out of space, I've looked over tons of sites and videos, but I don't have access to an old pc where I can connect my hard drive to. I have a laptop and I don't know anyone who has an old pc, I've tried chimp2618 to clone the two hard drives, but I keep getting these black background with white letters appearing on the screen I've waited for that to finish, then it brings me to the screen where it asks how I want them to be cloned, I tried option 1 and 2 but they both just do the same thing, I haven't even got to the cloning status screen. I'm trying to upgrade my hard drive but now I'm running out of options!

    quick question: do the new hard drive have to be unlocked?
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2012
  2. Modking30

    Modking30 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    xbox drives have a special drive format. You have to use the western digital drive and tools to flash it with firmware. You may want to update to LT 3.0 as well 1.6 is very old and cannot play current games
     
  3. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,031
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Modking are you getting wires crossed,OP is talking about original xbox
     
  4. Modking30

    Modking30 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    apparently so since this is the 360 section LOL
     
  5. Memnock

    Memnock Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Well he can't ask in the Xbox section since it's locked. For OP you really need a desktop PC to do this. This is not a job for a laptop. You could probably buy one at Goodwill for $30 that could do the job.
     

Share This Page