1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

USB Loader GX can't find my HD!! Please Help!

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by smilesy, Jul 2, 2009.

1. smilesy

smilesy Member

Hi All,
    Please forgive me if this is a stupid question, or has been answered before, but I can’t find an answer that fixes my problem.

I am new to Softmoding a Wii (or any sort of console moding). I have a Wii with 4.0e on it, and have gone through this guide new and improved wii softmod guide ! (great guide and worked perfectly) to install Homebrew, and then I have gone through this guide guide: usb loader gx to install USB Loader GX, and the application opens but can’t find the hard drive (tried both USB’s). I’m using a Lacie 160gb Mobile Disk, which according to this (USB Devices Compatibility List) should work, but isn’t. I have installed WBFS Manager 3.0.1 and formatted the drive to WBFS, but no love.

When I plug the HD into the Wii the blue led on the HD comes on for a while (around 30 secs I guess), and then goes off, so to me that says that it is not on, so I’m guessing that is the problem, but I have no idea how to fix it. Does anyone have any idea of what is wrong and how to fix it?
    Code:

Cheers

2. AfterDawn

AfterDawn Advertisement

3. cee43ja1

cee43ja1 Regular member

the wii can be picky in detecting drives. before plugging the drive in, turn off the wii. then plug it in the left side (bottom if flat). then turn on the wii. i've always done this on my custom external, and it always works.

4. smilesy

smilesy Member

I think I tried that, but it didn't fix it, but I'll give it a go to make sure.
    Thanks

5. Chaos17

Chaos17 Regular member

Try this.

Make sure your Wii is OFF not on standby The light on the front should to be red. Hold the power button until its its red.

6. smilesy

smilesy Member