1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Using EAC with hardware on a USB

Discussion in 'Audio' started by ahfskd, Dec 28, 2002.

  1. ahfskd

    ahfskd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hello. I am having trouble making Exact Audio Copy regognize my CD writer because it is external, and connects to my computer through a USB cable. When I open the configuration wizard, the writer is not on the list of CD drives that I use. Is there any way to make EAC work with my CD writer.

    Thanks in advance!!!
     
  2. ahfskd

    ahfskd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ...anyone?
     
  3. aldaco12

    aldaco12 Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    This is strange. EAC detects all drives that are coneted on your PC I managed to choose a burner that was connetced through a PCMCIA).

    Let me guess:

    1) Did you choose 'configuration wizard' on EAC? How many CD unit do you see?
    2) Did you download the latest version of EAC?
    3) Are you sure the CD Writer drivers are correctly installed (that is: does your computer 'see' the unit? Does it appear on Control Panel as Drive D: or E: or anything else?).

    You can also try to choose the CD Writer with Nero. If even Nero does not let you choose that burner, then your PC is not correctly configured and you need to re-install the CD Writer properly.
     
  4. ahfskd

    ahfskd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    My computer has no problem with the hardware; it is installed correctly and running perfectly. The configuration wizard shows one drive - which is my cd reader. My cd writer is external btw, does that make a difference?
     
  5. aldaco12

    aldaco12 Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    It should not. I mean, the PC sees it as a Physical unit (drive E: , for instance) so there should be no problem.

    Probably the driver is not supported. Look in the EAC mailing list.

    Look also here. A guy seems to have experienced your same problem...

    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/eac/messages/12746
     
  6. cd-rw.org

    cd-rw.org Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Try using EAC with Ahead Software's Nero ASPI - www.nero.com
     
  7. ahfskd

    ahfskd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    What is an ASPI?
     

Share This Page