1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

using HDloader w/o the disc

Discussion in 'PS2 - CD backup discussion' started by eniced73, Nov 22, 2004.

  1. eniced73

    eniced73 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am a newbie and need some help. In simple steps I would like to know if someone could tell me how to use HDloader without the disc. I seen multiple threads on this but dont follow them. I have the HDloader disc and HD for the PS2. I got it to work with the disc so I am setup. Now I need someone to give me step by step instructions with locations to find the things I need to get this to work. I apprectiate any input someone can give. Thanks again for the help.
     
  2. jonjakjam

    jonjakjam Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Its not possible.
     
  3. eniced73

    eniced73 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    is it not possible to use your memory card and a ps one game to boot up hd loader without the hd loader disk?
     
  4. jonjakjam

    jonjakjam Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Its not possible YOU can't do that either.....
    just kidding mate, pm me and il send you the files you need to get it working from the memory card =)
     
  5. goman007

    goman007 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i thought you can only use the card if your ps2 is modded?
     
  6. Icemonkey

    Icemonkey Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Either way you still have to use a disc to start the PS2. What difference does it make if you are using the original HD Loader disc or a PSX disc in conjunction with the memory card exploit? The memory card exploit was mainly developed for those that do not have a modchip or means of booting backups otherwise.
     
  7. jonjakjam

    jonjakjam Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Maybe he wants to install the exploit for a friend who has an unmoded Ps2 or something?
     
  8. eniced73

    eniced73 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i have hdloader and an unmodded pstwo. i want to give the hd loader disc to my nephew. Thus, I need to find a way to still use games stored with hdloader on my hd without the hd loader disc. I seen some posts and it looked like it was possible, but looking for someone who is able to give me the steps and the files to do this. thanks for the replies.
     
  9. jonjakjam

    jonjakjam Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    so your saying you want to use the exploit with the new PsTwo..?
    not possible. The exploit does NOT work on the PsTwo and neither does hdloader =(
     
  10. rbehera

    rbehera Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    he might mean just a normal playstation 2 instead of the new pstwo
     
  11. Dante1968

    Dante1968 Guest

    I've been trying to find HD Loader and i can't find anything on it can someone help me please maybe a file that someone has please help
     
  12. rbehera

    rbehera Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok as far as i know to get hdloaderyou need a modded playstation 2 or an action replay max with the max media player and a pendrive. if u want the files just pm me. i will reply to u within a day
     
  13. wilddraon

    wilddraon Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Man, all this are to confuse, I have read so many post and now I am still unsure, can someone clear me up.

    OK, I can have a harddrive hook up with Network adapter and hook up with PS2.

    I can either buy HDLoader or HDadvance from some site to copy games. I know I can do this for sure.\

    About the Memory Card exploit. I have memory card. I have read several instructions on how to put hacked hdloader into the Memory card instead of using the one that is avaliable online for $30.

    I am thinking of downloading the dhloader or HDadvance onto my computer and copy it to a Jump drive,

    then connec the Jump drive with the PS2 through usb,

    copy HDloader onto the momory card.

    I need a ps1 game to boot HDloader or HDadvance

    Started copy games onto harddrive???

    IS this how I do it?????
     
  14. DBZ999

    DBZ999 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    In order to get the memory card exploit on to your memory card you will need a way to boot the disc with the memory card expliot on it first so you can use either a boot disc like swap magic or you can use a modchip. I have sent you a PM with a link to info on making the Memory Card Exploit disc.
     
  15. djnicasin

    djnicasin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hey guys, do you know if it is possible to burn a copy of a downloaded copy of the hdloader, i think that i need some other files that make the ps2 format, because when i put it in the ps2 it tells me to insert a disc in the ps2 format, do you know of a program that can burn in the ps2 format!!!
    -pirate0
     
  16. jonjakjam

    jonjakjam Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  17. djnicasin

    djnicasin Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hey jonjakjam thanks for your input i appreciate it, well someone else told me at another thread i made..that it was also impossible and it also makes sense that a mod chip is required to be able to boot backups!! well i know the day will come when something new will emerge..and maybe my request won't be so crazy but until then of to but the hdloader...which was my plan B...later
    -
     
  18. benpast

    benpast Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    but is the hdloade mc exploit a backup? I tought the original psx game was needed to hide the backup or something like that
     
  19. nick2005

    nick2005 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I saw this on a certain forum:
    Q How do I install HD loader to my memory card (DMS3 Devmode 1) ?

    A Obtain HLOADER.ELF of size = around 640KB
    Now create a CDR containing the following

    HDLOADER.ELF
    SYSTEM.CNF

    Using notepad edit SYSTEM.CNF, and copy and paste the following in:

    BOOT2 = cdrom0:\HDLOADER.ELF;1
    VER = 1.0
    VMODE = NTSC

    INSTALL.CNF - Again edit this file with notepad and copy and paste the following in:

    HDLoader 1.0
    mc0:\BOOT\HDLOADER\HDLOADER.ELF
    _MKDIR mc0:\BOOT\HDLOADER
    _COPY cdrom0:\HDLOADER.ELF;1 mc0:\BOOT\HDLOADER\HDLOADER.ELF

    Double check your CDR contains the following:

    HDLOADER.ELF
    SYSTEM.CNF
    INSTALL.CNF

    Then using your favourite burning software burn the disk in Mode2.

    Tip, if you'd like your PS2 to boot straight into HDloader rather than DMS's explorer, rename HDLOADER.ELF to BOOT.ELF along with all references to the file in SYSTEM.CNF and INSTALL.CNF

    I don't understand what this has to do with adding it to your memory card.
     
  20. jonjakjam

    jonjakjam Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    @nick2005
    That method is for DMS3 users.
     

Share This Page