1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Using IFOEdit to change Language

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by thedon01, Jan 18, 2011.

  1. thedon01

    thedon01 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i have a movie on my computer in Pal Format. I successfully converted to NTSC using IFOEdit but when i play the movie on my Dvd Player it's in French or Dutch. Can i use IFOEdit or another program to change the language permantenly to English?

    thanks for the help
     
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. attar

    attar Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,238
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    98
  4. thedon01

    thedon01 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Will i have to do this for every TS File?
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2011
  5. attar

    attar Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,238
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    98
    I only do it for the main Title (usually Title 1, the longest running).

    In this case it's Title 1 and it's 1 hour 27 mins.


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2011
  6. thedon01

    thedon01 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    alright ill try it out and ill let you know
     
  7. thedon01

    thedon01 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    still no success. maybe i missed something because when i load the movie i receive a French or Dutch option (actually 2 "Flag" icons) with no english option. Either one i select will play the movie with the respected language.

    when using IFOEdit to change PAL - NTSC, should i also change the language on the audio lines from "Not specified" to "English" or leave it alone?

     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2011
  8. attar

    attar Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,238
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    98
    In the example, audio 0, Spanish, is the default 0x80
    Audio 2, English, is assigned 0x82.

    Change audio2, English to the default 0x80 (click Set)
    And the Spanish to 0x82 (click Set)
    Then OK and Save from the main menu.

    Since English is now 0x80, it is the default language.
    It can be tested using a media player like VLC before burning.


    [​IMG]
     
  9. thedon01

    thedon01 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    After i click the "open dvd" icon (far left) it gives me a warning that says:

    "There are two discrepancies in some VMGM/VTSI_MAT tables, do you want to run the "Fix Number of streams" macro to fix them?

    Do i click "yes/No/Yes to all"?
     
  10. attar

    attar Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,238
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    98
    I would say yes to all - but I would be running it on a copy.
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2011
  11. thedon01

    thedon01 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i dont know why im not understanding this, but in my example
    Audio VOB's Streams
    0 - En
    1 - Fr
    2 - En

    Which ones do i switch?
     
  12. attar

    attar Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,238
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    98
    It says you have two English and one French track.
    If you click on them one at a time, it will show the stream number:0x80 is the default stream - the one that plays automatically..
    Which one is shown as 0x80.
     
  13. thedon01

    thedon01 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    0 - en 0x80 (normal)
    1 - fr 0x81 (normal)
    2 - en 0x82 (director comment)
     
  14. attar

    attar Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,238
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    98
    It should be playing 0 by default.
    When you check the domain stream attributes is it en-fr-en

    This is an example of my DVD
    It shows the original Spanish French English
    After I change it in the editor, I change it in the domain attributes to
    English French Spanish.

    [​IMG]
     
  15. thedon01

    thedon01 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Video Section:
    Everything is the same except Film is highlighted not camera

    Audio Section:
    Audio 0 - en
    Audio 1 - fr
    Audio 2 - en

    Subpic Section:
    Subpic 0 - nl - normal
    Subpic 1 - "It's blank" - unspecified
     
  16. attar

    attar Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,238
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    98
    Beats me.
    You are definitely selecting the main title?
     
  17. thedon01

    thedon01 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yes it's VTST 1, 1 (1:47:31) it's the longest
     
  18. attar

    attar Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,238
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    98
    You've wrung me dry.
    Try VideoHelp (no waiting) or Doom9 (wait to be allowed to post).
     
  19. thedon01

    thedon01 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well i appreciate your help though. thank you very much, ill try them out as well. Last question though: Why can't i use IFOEdit to change the language? I used it to change PAL - NTSC. Does it not allow you to change the language?

     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2011
  20. attar

    attar Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,238
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    98
    I don't know enough about IfoEdit so can't say.
     
  21. thedon01

    thedon01 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    By the way:

    When I used IFOEdit to convert from Pal to NTSC i noticed that in Title Set 1 [bottom pane]

    VTS_1 Audio 1: English
    VTS_2 Audio 2: French
    VTS_3 Audio 3: English

    VTS_1 Sub picture 1: Netherlands
    VTS_2 Sub picture 2: Not Specified

    Does this have any significance because i remember seeing this in PGCedit?
     

Share This Page