1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Using Vista and DVD Decrypter

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by clarasguy, May 19, 2007.

  1. clarasguy

    clarasguy Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi, i am trying to back up a dvd using dvd decrypter on a vista pc however i keep getting an error that says: unable to create, replace, or append to file... I can read the dvd on my other computer that runs xp sp2. Is there something in vista that is not letting me read the dvd?? Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. Neverhap

    Neverhap Guest

    Perhaps you could post the log from Decrypter here?
     
  3. LOCOENG

    LOCOENG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    11,493
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    I'm not very familiar with Vista, but I think that it has a compatability mode that lets XP apps run...are you trying to run DVD in this mode?
     
  4. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    You can also try ripping DVDFab HD Decrypter.
    Free and still updated to handle the latest copy protection.
    My guess is it's compatible w/ Vista.
     
  5. LOCOENG

    LOCOENG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    11,493
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Fengtao advertises that Platinum and Gold are Vista compatable, but makes no mention for DVDFab HD Decrypter...surely it is capable of being run in both environment.s
     
  6. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I would think so too.
    But I'll have to rely on someone to advise if it does - no intentions of going anywhere near Vista. My setups are nice and problem free :)
     
  7. LOCOENG

    LOCOENG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    Messages:
    11,493
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    118
    My sentiments exactly me lady....I will be looking to Linux before long.
     
  8. Neverhap

    Neverhap Guest

    Looks like "clarasguy" has left the building!!! I have some friends running Vista, and no problems with DVD Decrypter. For me, no thanks, I tried it and most of my printers were not supported, so farewell to Vista for a very long time from now.
     
  9. gurnard

    gurnard Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    hi :)
    Decrypter worked ok on my daughters vista ok...but as said, as soon as she tried to run her new printer on it..lo and behold, no drivers could be found for it in vista.
    out the window with it..install windows...wallah..no more probs with printer.
     
  10. clarasguy

    clarasguy Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i'm still here. thanks for all of the suggestions. i will try a few of those.
     
  11. jude21

    jude21 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am having the same problem when using vista. I get the same error message in ISO mode, but it works fine in IFO and file mode. Here is the log, I don't know what parts are relevant.

    I 18:14:27 DVD Decrypter Version 3.5.4.0 started!
    I 18:14:27 Microsoft Windows Code Name "Longhorn" Home Edition (6.0, Build 6000)
    I 18:14:27 Initialising SPTI...
    I 18:14:27 Searching for SCSI / ATAPI devices...
    I 18:14:31 Found 1 DVD-RAM/┬▒RW!
    W 18:14:32 Possible RCE Protection Found!
    W 18:14:32 Media region code: 1, 3, 4
    W 18:14:37 User selected Region 1 for the disc's region code.
    I 18:14:40 Operation Started!
    I 18:14:40 Source Device: [1:0:0] MATSHITA DVD-RAM UJ-850S 1.60 (F:) (ATA)
    I 18:14:40 Source Media Type: DVD-ROM
    I 18:14:41 Source Media Region Code: 1, 3, 4
    I 18:14:41 Source Media Copyright Protection System Type: CSS/CPPM
    I 18:14:41 Source Media Implementation Identifier: SONY DVD Video
    I 18:14:41 Destination File: C:\METROPOLIS.ISO
    I 18:14:41 File Splitting: Auto
    I 18:14:41 Detect Mastering Errors: No
    I 18:14:41 Remove Macrovision Protection: Yes
    E 18:14:46 Operation Failed! - Duration: 00:00:05
    E 18:14:46 Average Read Rate: N/A - Maximum Read Rate: N/A
     
  12. jude21

    jude21 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    okay, nevermind. I changed the destination and it worked fine
     
  13. jude21

    jude21 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    What I still can't figure out is how to burn a dvd so that it is compatible with my dvd player. Do I need another program to convert the ISO image or the files in the video_ts folder?
     
  14. binkie7

    binkie7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    18,496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    What media are you using? Players can be picky with media.
    Ones to use - Taiyo Yuden, Verbatim, or made in Japan Sony, Fuji or Maxell.
    How about the burn speed? Try taking it down a notch.

     
  15. jpreyes

    jpreyes Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i know decryptor didnt work for me until i downloaded vista codecs
     

Share This Page