1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

utorrent = ANNOYING ME!

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by papa_face, Mar 12, 2007.

  1. papa_face

    papa_face Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hello,
    Well as you can see utorrent is annoying me.
    When I download a torrent things seem to go well for the first hour or so, and then my download speed slumps from about 50-60k to a rediculous 0.1kps.
    What could be causing this?
    Is it possible to move the torrent to another client WITHout losing all my files that I have downloaded so far and simply carry on from where I left off?

    Thanks
     
  2. bkf

    bkf Guest

    Comment removed by me to comply
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 13, 2007
  3. papa_face

    papa_face Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Erm, you obviously do not understand bittorrent. It isnt always used for illegal activities for your information.
    If your not going to post to help bkf do not post at all.
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2007
  4. geestar20

    geestar20 Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Yes. All you have to do is go to your torrent site/ re-download that same file But tell it where to download/go. such as the same folder that says "download" C:\Documents and Settings\geestar20\My Documents and it will pick up where it left off.
     
  5. papa_face

    papa_face Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks :)
    I will try that and see if it works.
     
  6. bkf

    bkf Guest

    Comment removed by me to comply
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 13, 2007
  7. papa_face

    papa_face Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    lol how immature, get a life.
     
  8. geestar20

    geestar20 Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    @-bkf-

    Why do you have to be such a prick?!

    @-papa_face-

    Did this work for you?
     
  9. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,073
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    bkf, knockoff the attitude or i'll knock you off the site, your choice!!

    hello geestar!!!
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2007
  10. papa_face

    papa_face Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hello,
    The moving of clients worked. I moved to bitcomet, and it was still showing 0.1kb. So i moved to one that I havent used before - the Bittorrent client, and it was still the same.
    I checked my router, made sure my ports were open correctly. I also ensured that UPNP (i think its that) was enabled and it was.
    I dont know what is causing the issue. So I just gave up in the end and deleted the files and the torrent lol. So they're in my recycle bin now :(

    Thanks for your help anyway geestar20 :)
     
  11. ned1710

    ned1710 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi, i use Utorrent aswell and i get good download speeds i have a 1mb line and i download most popular torrents at 80 - 480 kbps.
    the settings i use are;
    Port: 16543
    enable upnp. ticked
    add utorrent to win fw. ticked
    global maximum upload 30 alternate when downloading 50
    global maximum download limit 0 for unlimited
    global maximum num of connections 1000
    max number of peers per torrent 99999
    max upload slots per torrent 8
    enable dht network. ticked
    enable dht for new networks. ticked
    ask tracker for scrape information. ticked
    ebable peer exchange. ticked
    protocol encryption, outgoing disabled, allow incoming legacy connections. ticked
    Dont know if this helps anyone but it works for me.

    Ned
     

Share This Page