1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

utorrent

Discussion in 'Linux - General discussion' started by kiwi1, Feb 9, 2007.

1. kiwi1

kiwi1 Regular member

Hi, has anyone had success with utorrent under wine?, I've got it running but cant get decent speeds, yellow icon stating ports not forwarded correctly, I'm using the same IP I use with windows and a port is forwarded to that IP, If linux is firewalling incoming conections, how do I disable this?
    Thanks.

2. whompus

whompus Active member

3. kiwi1

kiwi1 Regular member

Yeah I've seen a few p2p's for linux, like ktorrent which is apparently a µtorrent clone. Truth is, I'm new to linux and have been experimenting with wine, was just wondering why I cant get the 'green tick' I get with windows.

4. janrocks

janrocks Guest

Always remember wine is experimental. Windows apps don't work well on *nix systems..period..
    As it's a compatability layer (not an emulator but the same kind of issues) you will always have headaches with port access and read/write files. Even experts can't always get things to work properly when they get involved with port simulation and the like, so don't worry about it too much. I gave up with wine after failing to get 99% of anything to work as expected and took another road to achieve the mission.

Use a real *nix p2p app like azureus, utorrent has been bought by the enemy, my peer guard flagged the download site as an riaa affiliate, so it's out as far as I'm concerned.

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 10, 2007
  5. kiwi1

kiwi1 Regular member

Just playing at the moment, I'm prolly gonna look at azureus later on, With windows I used peer gaurdian for torrents, What do you suggest for linux?
    Is there anything as effective as pg?
    thanks

6. janrocks

janrocks Guest