1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

V10 PS2 with Crystal Chip 1.1 won't load any discs at all

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by Mosch, Jan 16, 2007.

  1. Mosch

    Mosch Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi everyone,
    I was asked to find a fix for the following problem:
    A PS2 V10 was modded with a Crystal Chip 1.1 and has alwas worked without any problems. It stopped reading any CDs/DVDs, neither backups nor originals, when the owner tried to install a new firmware (hacked r16). All it does now is fade to the black screen as normal, I can hear the disc spin, then I get presented with the browser which shows the disc as a Playstation 2 - disc. Trying to boot it from the browser gives me the same results... goes back to the browser after a short time. I read on the crystal chip homepage that the firmware could be reset by pressing reset 3 times when the console boots up - this did not change a thing. Disabling the chip by pressing reset 6 times during startup has not changed anything either.

    Does anyone have an idea how to fix this problem? I'm pretty much at a loss here. Only other thing I can think of is cleaning the laser - however I seriously doubt that this is the problem, the firmware update directly before the console stopped working is far too... coincidental.

    Thanks for your help.
     
  2. ps2modgod

    ps2modgod Guest

    I'm assuming when you have the chip disabled you were trying to boot on original correct? It kinda sounds like a bad laser to me.
     
  3. Mosch

    Mosch Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I tried my original disc of guitar hero, then a backup of the game. None loaded but both were recognized in the browser. I also tried several other original discs and some backup all of which were recognized - none booted though.

    Thought so too but that would be a really strange coincidence considering the laser never had problems before. I cleaned it anyway just now, but that did not change anything.
     
  4. ps2modgod

    ps2modgod Guest

    Are you sure you have the hacked FW flashed to the chip? If not and you have the official FW from CC then it will act very similar. You can find the most resent FW/BM here

    http://www.ps2-scene.org/forums/showthread.php?t=51706

    The above link is the FW/BM 31 even though its called 30. Its somewhat bugged right now and being worked on so you might want to stay with the more stable FW/BM 29 until then which can be found here

    http://www.ps2-scene.org/forums/showthread.php?t=48790

    I hope this works for you.

     
  5. Mosch

    Mosch Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    First of all, let me just say "thanks for your help". I appreciate it.

    OK, so I don't exactly know which firmware was flashed. I suppose I'm back to the original one now, as I used the restore method (press reset 3 times during startup). I would happily flash the chip with a new, hacked firmware, but the problem is that the PS2 won't read any discs at all. Is there an alternative way to flash the chip with a new firmware?
     
  6. ps2modgod

    ps2modgod Guest

    Tapping reset 3 times does not restore your Cc to factory, it boots the chip into what is called "recovery mode" where the chip actually boots from a back-up "stock" firmware.

    You don't seem to understand, if the CC has the factory flash or the original from the website it WONT even boot originals, it will take you to the browser menu just as you have described. Try downloading the FW/BM and burning it to a CD-R from the link I posted above. You can try booting this upgrade like you would normally but if that doesnt help you can try to boot the CC into recovery mode. You might want to also read up on those links I have provided so you will have a better underatnding of how the CC works. Just so you know http://ps2-scene.org is the official support forum for the CC team.

    Have fun!
     
  7. Rolling_S

    Rolling_S Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have this problem and there's no chip in my V9. :(
     
  8. ps2modgod

    ps2modgod Guest

    If you have no modchip it might be a laser issue.
     
  9. Mosch

    Mosch Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ah! Good to know - thanks for clearing that up.

    Thank you! I was able to upgrade to firmware 29 I grabbed from ps2-scene. However now the PS2 is behaving very erraticly. It won't read my original discs - I just get a black screen. The same happens with the backups of those games. Ico is an exception - the original does not work, my backup does. All discs are resonably clean and can be read by my own PS2 (I have a V14). Some of my backups go directly to the red "Please insert a playstation or playstation 2 format disc" screen. Maybe the newer firmware is not working correctly with the older chips?
     
  10. ps2modgod

    ps2modgod Guest

    Hmmm, no the new FW/BM is working with the CC1.1. It kinda sounds like you have a laser issue :(
     
  11. Mosch

    Mosch Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I doubt that this is a laser issue - after all, the upgrade discs can be read without any problems.
    I'm currently going through the different firmwares. I tried 29, 30, 16 and 19, all hacked, none worked - black screen.

    So, I suppose we're both out of ideas, right?
     
  12. ps2modgod

    ps2modgod Guest

    Just because it can read the upgrade disc from a CD-R well means nothing. Your laser might be goo enough to do this however be worn bad enough that its having trouble with DVD-R's, this is not uncommon of PS2 lasers. Also realize that you need to be uning good quality recorable media. Didnt you already state that it does infact boot some backups? If so then its not a chip issue, but every likely a laser issue. You can disable the CC by tapping rest 6 times, try this an then try booting an original, if you have the same results you can pretty much blame the laser.
     
  13. Mosch

    Mosch Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Only a single backup can be read which was burned to a DVD-R, the same kind I always use. Disabling the chip allows me to play my original DVDs - sorry I didn't mention it.

    I'm pretty much at a loss.
     
  14. Mosch

    Mosch Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I got it to work by going into recovery mode, booting the update CD with the hacked firmware 30, resetting, then installing the firmware, but not the bootmanager (this whole resetting was really an accident, but I'm not complaining about the outcome). Now most discs work - all my original ones do, my Guitar Hero 2 and Shadow of the Colossus backup don't (the originals work flawlessly). That's a pretty good success rate so now I'll just declare it fixed and give it back to my neighbour ;)
     
  15. carhopper

    carhopper Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I am haveing the same kind of problem. I wanted to erase the things off of my memory card. I turned the ps2 on and went to memory card. Then went to erase MCC. After i hit that the screen went black. Know games will work. Can someone please help. How do i put firmware it it. It is a crystal chip.
     
  16. carhopper

    carhopper Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I hit the reset 3 times and i get a sony screen then it goes back to a black screen. What should i do
     
  17. carhopper

    carhopper Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I can play orginal games but i got to hit reset 6 times every time to get it to work.
    I downloaded the firmware. but when i put the cdr in the ps2 it says something like put orginal ps2 game it. cant read disk. I did the firmware right. Made it and burnt it with nero. please help
     
  18. ps2modgod

    ps2modgod Guest

    Sounds like your install is incorrect then.
     

Share This Page