1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

V9 PS2 Backup

Discussion in 'PS2' started by Drustan, Jan 18, 2004.

1. Drustan

Drustan Guest

Hi, I have a v9 ps2 (satin silver), which is fitted professionally with the messiah mod chip. I can play original ps2 & ps1 and ps1 backups, but I have of yet to get a ps2 backup to play on it. I tried backing up NHL 2004 using dvd decrypter to read and write iso file, and I also backed up the game using Nero 6 Professional Edition, but both copies failed to load on my ps2. This is my first attempt to backup my original ps2 games, using a 3.2 Pent IV CPU, 512 ddrram, 250GB H/D, 128mb Ati Radeon Pro, NEC DVD+RW ND-2100AD writer. I read and wrote on the writer and settings were set to max, write speed was @ 2.5 using a Primi Disc DVD+R. Can anyone please tell me have I been doing something wrong, or is there a boot method to load Ps2 backups (there is for the Ps1 backups). I had the address for the messiah chip for the different boot methods, but have lost that, but I dont recall there been any special boot up for ps2 backups. Hope some one can help. Thanks

2. sly_61019

sly_61019 Senior member

try another game and see if it works. ive heard a lot of problems with nhl 2004.

3. Drustan

Drustan Guest

Great, thanks, by the way can my ps2 read dvd+rw discs? I'm going to give record now max a go at burning my games. I'm also going to reduce the speed of the write down to 1x.

4. sly_61019

sly_61019 Senior member

rw should work

5. Drustan

Drustan Guest

Thanks again Sly, I'll keep you posted how I get on.

6. j2huggar

j2huggar Regular member

Try alcohol 120% before you waste all of your media trying to burn with other programs. Also, as people have posted in this forum, the ps2 is more adept at reading dvd-r than dvd+r, although this shouldnt be too big of a problem with your newer version ps2.

7. Drustan

Drustan Guest