1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VCR TO DVD CONVERSIONS

Discussion in 'Video capturing from analog sources' started by Waynf, Aug 31, 2007.

1. Waynf

Waynf Member

I'm new at this so be patient. Upon reviewing forums concerning this subject, I have discovered that one can do said conversion utilizing a computer at some exceedingly high costs in the $400.00 range. Without appearing rude I have to ask the question, why would someone want to go this route, when DVD recorders which replace the old VCRs are starting to flood the marketplace, under such manufacturers such as Daytek, Electrohome, Curtis, Magnavox at prices ranging from as little as $99.99 to $175.00 CDN. Is there a quality compromise when using these recorders?

More details about this conversion would be appreciated in regards to my above mentioned question.

2. attar

attar Senior member

The standalone DVD recorders are more convenient inasmuch as they don't tie up the PC, however the combo units (VCR+DVD Recorder) won't allow you to backup a tape that has Macrovision protection - neither will the single unit - except that you can use a video stabilizer to to bypass that problem.This is not possible with the combos.

The PC capture cards sometimes suffer from dropped frames, which causes sync problems in the video.They also require large amounts of HD space which is a potential expense - not to mention that they always specify the PC that you didn't expect to buy for a few years - but you can edit the video before saving to disk - that's a nuisance with the standalone units inasmuch as you have little control before recording and to post process the video cancels out the convenience.

3. Waynf

Waynf Member

4. Musaffa2

Musaffa2 Member