1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Vegas 4 and small mpeg1.... I'm lost.

Discussion in 'Video - Software discussion' started by MikeInNM, Sep 24, 2003.

1. MikeInNM

MikeInNM Member

I have lots of computer experience, photography experience but little video experience or knowledge.

I have been fortunate in making DVD's with good quality with Vegas 3 and 4 but now encounter a weird problem.

I sell classic cars and while doing digital photos I started using my Sony camera to take a short mpeg1 clip to let someone hear and see the car run.

Size is very small, quality is horrible but it is perfect for what I need.

When I try to edit the goofs from these clips and render with Vegas as MPEG1 my file size is huge compared to the original dinky clip my camera put out.

I set the same size, audio and everything I can find with my limited knowledge and even with 1/2 of a clip cut out the resulting file is bigger than my original.

Can anyone make a guideline suggestion for settings to get the smallest file size possible for an MPEG1 and put it in very basic terms for a newbie like me.

My original clip has these properties:

160 x 112 x 32
    25.fps
    32000 hz mono

2. jnihil

jnihil Moderator Staff Member

what are you doing after choosing 'render as'?

Rgds,
    jnihil.

3. MikeInNM

MikeInNM Member

I choose Mpeg 1
    Template Shows Default and I choose Custom Button
    Project Tab - Video Quality (Everywhere between Draft to Good)
    Video Tab - Width 160 Height 112 Frame Rate - 25
    Audio Tab - Mono
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    These are the only known parameters I can distinguish from my original mpeg. I have at different times "messed" with other render checkboxes but I seriously don't know what they do. I use the above settings just trying to match the original but no matter what I do my new version is bigger than my original.