1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Very newbie questions

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by missypatt, Feb 26, 2005.

1. missypatt

missypatt Member

Hello all! I am VERY new to this and have a lot of questions! I just bought a new laptop that has a DVD burner in it and want to know where to begin. It came installed with Nero and I just down loaded a DVD decrypter. What do I need to know to begin? Is there any forums that will walk you through the whole process? I don't understand big words with long terms.. I just need simple advice. Thank you!! ~missy

2. bilbo65

bilbo65 Regular member

3. fasfrank

fasfrank Active member

Hi missypatt,

Welcome to Afterdawn! I'd just like to explain a few things first.

Media:
    That would be your blank DVDs. Make sure you get the right format. By that I mean if you have a +R burner, then get +R DVDs if it is a - get -R DVDs. Chances are it can use both but you should check.

Use quality media. Do not buy the cheapest stuff you can find. It does make a difference. I prefer Ritek G-04 and Verbatim. There are lots of good brands out there some not so good.

Get some RW media to practice a bit with first. RW discs are eraseable.

Programs:
    Decrypter is a good program to have. Understand that just about all movies are to big to fit onto a single-layer DVD. A popular method is to use DVD Shrink with Decrypter to fit that DVD-9 onto a DVD-5 blank disc.

You can download Shrink here at Afterdawn or from my site, http://www.dvdplusvideo.com I have the Shrink .exe on my server so it is a direct download, No mirrors.

A few other tips:
    Make sure your original is clean. Clean it if it needs it. My method is just a bit of screen cleaner sprayed on the DVD, gentle wipes from the center out, not round and round, followed by a bit of canned air.