1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VHS to DVD or DVD to DVD Need Help

Discussion in 'DVD recorders' started by hbcmarla, Jan 17, 2006.

1. hbcmarla

hbcmarla Member

I am very new to this and my boyfriend not only has a bunch of vhs home videos but has a lot of vhs copyrighted movies & dvd copyrighted movies that he would like to have backup copies of. I am attempting to buy him something to help him with this conversion for his upcoming bday. We already have a normal dvd player & he has like a whol stereo system/receiver thing he has hooked everything up through. So mine is a 2 part question: A. Which 1 out of the following would be the best quality dvd recorder/vcr combo unit...
    RCA DRC8310N, Sony RDR-VX515, Panasonic DMR-ES40VS, Pioneer DVR-233-S or Emerson EWR20V5? and B. What additional device do I need to do this this with the tv/dvd/dvd recorder with vcr all hooked up together?

2. LCSHG

LCSHG Regular member

[ hbcmarla ]

[Wrote]
    but has a lot of vhs copyrighted movies & dvd copyrighted movies that he would like to have backup copies of.

A - None will do the above. As to quality I would not purchase a VCR/DVD Combo unit for recording as you want, especially the Sony.
    B - You can purchase many "box's" that say they can eliminate CP. In my opinion They just cost money and do not do a complete job especially on DVD

Last edited: Jan 17, 2006
  3. hbcmarla

hbcmarla Member

Yes thank you I am aware that none of them will do this as a stand alone. I have also been reading a lot of the forums and they talk about things that they connect to the recorder somehow to make it so he can transfer the bulk of his copyrighted vhs movies over to a dvd's so he doesn't have to go out an rebuy all of them. Some product under the name Sima possibly?????

4. catfreak

catfreak Active member