1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

VHS to PC Help...

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by vexeh, Mar 8, 2005.

1. vexeh

vexeh Member

im a newbie to these forums and i couldnt spot a VHS section within this forum so i thought id post here, what it is, i have a s-video cable

all's i know is that i can plug it into my s-video slot in the back of my gfx card and there is a scart the other end and i can put that into my tv or video or sumthing but i want is i want to transfer or record or whatever my VHS over to my PC ? is that possible , i was watching The Gadget Show the other day and they sed it is possible with a regular svideo cable and a piece of software but i didnt catch the name of it so im stumped! so can somebody help me please all post thankful b4 hand!

Last edited: Mar 8, 2005
  2. bbmayo

bbmayo Active member

Its only possible if your video card is a "video capture card" I am willing to bet that S video is a output and not a input.. Do happen to know the make and model number of your video card? If it's not a capture card you can buy one and put it in your system pretty easily, but if you arent comfortable with that you can go for an external USB type also (litle more expensive). A upgraded Video card can never hurt and if you get one with a TV tuner on it even better yet!! You can the recoard your favorite show's on your PC and edit and mess with them.. If you are not comfortable with any of that you could go for a Stand Alone DVD recorder and just record from VCR/Camcorder directly to that.. So you have many options, but lets see what video card you have first?

3. vexeh

vexeh Member

Tornado GeForce FX 5700 256mb

is that compatible ?!

Last edited: Mar 9, 2005
  4. bbmayo

bbmayo Active member

Nope sorry to say :-( it's a great card just not a video capture card...