1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Vice City and GTA 3 are not running smooth on PC? Why?

Discussion in 'CD-R' started by suarez44, Sep 5, 2003.

  1. suarez44

    suarez44 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have GTA 3 and GTA VC, and they both do not run smooth on my PC, and my pc has 2.2GHZ, and 128 RAM, now i know that is a crappy amount of RAM, but at least for GTA 3 it only ask for a min. of 96MB and 128+ for max. No graphics card, could that be it, or do you think I need more RAM? I even have lowered stuff down in the option menu, the draw distance and all that stuff. If anyone can help I would greatly appreciate it.

    Thanks,
    C.J.
     
  2. Shoey

    Shoey Guest

    I recommend you up your total system ram to 512 and and a nVidia GeForce4 128 meg graphic card or ATI equivilent m8. This way you can at least play Command& Conquer Generals with very little problems. Mobo support 8x (AGP)?

    Shoey :)
     
  3. suarez44

    suarez44 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Shoey,
    Are there any sites or stores that you recommend to get this all, i've checked a few places and they are a bit pricey, I know this stuff is not gonna be cheap, but i am wanting to get the best price possible. Please Help!

    Thanks,
    C.J.
     
  4. Shoey

    Shoey Guest

    Well if your mobo supports 8x (AGP) then take a good look at this MSI video card. If your mobo only suppots 4x (AGP) then search evga or Jayton for nVidia(GeForce4) based chipset video cards m8.

    http://www.msi.com.tw/program/products/vga/vga/pro_vga_detail.php?UID=446

    Note than most new mobo's that run 8x (AGP)=3.0 also support 4x AGP=2.0. Check your users manual (if applicable) and the video card you're considering to purchase as well.

    Shoey :)

     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 5, 2003
  5. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    And yes AGP3.0 (that's 8X AGP) is backwards compatible with AGP2.0 (4X AGP) and that MSI card is an excellent buy for that price.
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2003

Share This Page