1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

view using windows media player

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by lakep, May 25, 2007.

  1. lakep

    lakep Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i have ripped a dvd to my hard drive. when i open the iso file using WMP it either hangs for ages or it will play but without sound. i am using the mnost recent version of WMP.

    thanks for any help.
     
  2. Car.Mike

    Car.Mike Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    3,787
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    lakep ,
    Welcome to the forum. WMP has problems playing iso files. VLC will play them and it is free. Below is the site

    http://www.videolan.org/vlc/
     
  3. lakep

    lakep Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    car.mike you're a star!!! this worked a treat. thanks very much, i was tearing my hair out!

    cheers!!!
     
  4. aabbccdd

    aabbccdd Guest

    Mike will that program play full screen?

    because for some reason my WMP doesn't playback files in the right hue color anymore you have to adjust it everytime you play a file. i tryed everything to fix it and can't get it done. even an uninstall and a clean reinstall didn't work same problem
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 27, 2007
  5. lakep

    lakep Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    to aabbccdd,

    i have tried this out and it does play full screen.
     
  6. lakep

    lakep Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    mike, or anyone else,

    the vlc player is great for using on my iso files but seems to have taken over my WMP as my main media player, which I dont want. i just want to use this when i need to . is there a way of doing this??

    thanks again.
     
  7. Car.Mike

    Car.Mike Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    3,787
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    aabbccdd,
    Like lakep stated it will play Fullscreen. This is the only program that I know of that will play iso's w/o a hitch and if someone else knows of any we need to know so we can tell the others that have the same problem.

    lakep ,
    You can try this. Right click the DVD-Rom drive and go to properities. Go to autoplay and then make sure you highlight what ever program you want to use to play the DVD Video files and then check "select an action to perform" and then click appy and OK. Hopefully that will overrid the VLC problem you are having.
     
  8. 300bowler

    300bowler Regular member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    If the thing that Car.Mike said doesn't work you can try this
    open the Control Panel then select ADD/Remove Programs, then follow the steps in the pic
    [​IMG]
     
  9. aabbccdd

    aabbccdd Guest

    yes 300bowler thats the easiest method and it will work

    BTW anyone have an idea what the problem is with my WMP that i posted above??
     
  10. Car.Mike

    Car.Mike Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    3,787
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    aabbccdd ,
    Is it WMP or is it your Vid Card? I have never had that problem
     
  11. aabbccdd

    aabbccdd Guest

    Mike i would think it would be something wrong with WMP because nero showtime works ok and ITunes. like i said i tryed everything to fix it and it hasn't worked other than caLLING MS
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 27, 2007
  12. Car.Mike

    Car.Mike Active member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2004
    Messages:
    3,787
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    aabbccdd,
    Have you tried MP Classic and see if that does the same thing. Since you have Nero then it is not the codecs and I truly have no idea how to fix it unless a re-install will work.
     
  13. aabbccdd

    aabbccdd Guest

    haven't tryed WP Classic

    did try a clean reinstall with no luck twice

    only thing i know to do is to reformat windows and that may not even work so i don't want to go though the hassle of doing it
     

Share This Page