1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Virtual Dub 1st Pass (warnings) And 2nd Pass Stuck At 90%

Discussion in 'DivX / XviD' started by one5one, May 17, 2003.

1. one5one

one5one Guest

I searched the site pretty good and couldn't find any previous discussions dealing with this problem. I am using the Afterdawn guide to ripiing DVD to DivX 16:9 anamorphic movies. This is my first try. It has been a struggle but I finally made it to DivX encoding phase. My 1st pass completed and shows the status as "Done" (warnings). So I don't know what that means or if I should be concerned. My second pass processed along to 90% but has been stuck there for about 2 hours. There are no system resources issues that I can tell. I am using Win XP. Is any of this normal? I am thinking of aborting and staring the Virtual Dub part over but would first like to hear from someone that has been here before.

2. powerdup

powerdup Regular member

What settings did you use prior to encoding ie:nth pass method or the original 2-pass. Also was there any warnings before things went wrong?

3. one5one

one5one Guest

The only options available were 1-pass, multipass - 1st pass and multipass - 2nd pass. I chose multipass - 1st pass for my first save and then 2nd pass for the next. That gave me 2 jobs. I'm using DivX Codec 5.05.

I did not receive any warnings.

4. one5one

one5one Guest

I'm sorry, the options were 1-pass then multipass - 1st pass and then multipass - nth pass.

5. powerdup

powerdup Regular member

If i misunderstand what you just replied then im sorry, but it looks to me like you chose a few too many passes. If you are using divx 5.05 and you use the nth pass method then you only have to choose multi-pass first pass and then multipass nth pass. Also do you use your computer while encoding? I usually tend to leave the computer alone while encoding so most processing power is soley for encoding my movie.