1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

.vob files too big

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by Gran-Pa, Feb 18, 2003.

1. Gran-Pa

Gran-Pa Member

I've contacted Daewoo, who made my DVD player, and they've told me that my player will only play .vob files. What a pain in the ****. I've got Nero VisionExpress that turns .avi and .mpg into .vob files, but that doesn't help much when the file it outputs is too large to fit on to a DVD.

2. malum

malum Regular member

How big are they?

I assume that you know how to use IFOedit to create IFO's for the VOB's?
    Having done this put them in a folder called VIDEO_TS then run the whole thing through DVD2one to bring it down to the right size.

You could also re-encode them but the above is the simplest and quickest method

3. dwoman

dwoman Member

I hope this is on the same topic - I am a real newbie.

I've used Nero 5.9.9.9 to translate an AVI file & try to burn an SVCD on a CD. It did the translation to a temp file (for over 2 hrs) and was ready for a blank disc, but with all the CD-R, CD-RW & DVD-Rs I've tried, I get the same message - 'media too small'. It seems to want to put 774 mgb onto the disc. I did originally set it to make it fit but...

Now the program is closed & the temp file has been deleted. Any ideas? Thanks for your help.

Last edited: Feb 18, 2003
  4. malum

malum Regular member

AFAIK you can't burn SVCD files onto a DVD (well you can but it won't play)

774 mb should fit on a CD

5. dwoman

dwoman Member

Thanx for your response. The DVD was a desparate last attempt. The CDs I have are all lower x-speeds than my new burner - could that be the problem? The highest I have is max 24x, & my burner is 48x24x48x.