1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Vob to mpeg 2

Discussion in 'Convert DVD to another format' started by goldenmeadow, Oct 6, 2016.

  1. goldenmeadow

    goldenmeadow Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi,
    I used to have a desktop with xp and used that to put dvd clips from live tv and video tape


    the clips are 2 or 3 mins long

    I made them on a dvd recorder and of course I always finalise the disc

    In the desktop I used to get up.... any video converter.....
    put the files in there and convert to mpeg 2
    40 mins later I had 20 or so clips that I could save on my comp

    Sadly the desk top conked out and now Im trying to do the same work on
    my laptop windows 7

    I installed.... any video converter ..... put some files in there from a dvd disc...
    hit convert to mpeg 2 .... I was surprised at how fast the files were done
    but the result was files that were about 5 seconds long

    I installed Freemake video converter only to get the same result

    Why am I having these probs with this laptop
    it was smooth sailing on my old xp desktop
     
  2. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,990
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    78
    What's wrong is like asking how long a piece of string is,it could be anything however you are ripping i really mean(drag & drop) the dvd to a folder on the hard drive then converting as that isn't clear.If your converting direct from dvd do the former & see what happens.

    It does kinda sound like the software doesn't see any data to convert,i assume the dvd's play ok with not pauses & disc thrashing as tho it's trying to read

    i'm not sure if mediainfo could tell us anything

    install klite full that will at least install codecs
     
  3. goldenmeadow

    goldenmeadow Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I notice that all the clips that have sound.... when played in my computor from the dvd
    .... are the clips I recorded from live TV

    the ones that have no audio are the clips I recorded from video tape

    but as I say.... the disc was finalized in the dvd recorder ..... the audio is there when
    played in any dvd player
    why should I be having these audio problems when played in a laptop computor ?
     
  4. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,990
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Wouldn't have a clue however if you use mediainfo on the video file (assuming it's a single large file or multiple smaller ones) then the audio will show up near the bottom when you use the scroll bar,unless you have this folder structure below & if so then i assume both folders need to be selected as both streams are separate.For instance selecting video will only play video with no sound
    audio_ts
    video_ts

    live from tv recordings would play as the video & audio streams are combined
     
  5. goldenmeadow

    goldenmeadow Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I cant see that there is anything I can do
    if the audio wont play in the laptop directly from the disc....
    Ive tried with BS Playeer.... media player .... VLC Etc
    all with same result .... no sound on the files recorded from vid tapes

    its a mystery !
     
  6. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,990
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    78
    open the dvd in explorer & use mediainfo (it's part of klite or is standalone) on the vhs rips. What is it saying on the video files when you right click & select mediainfo or you open the file with mediainfo if using the standalone version,copy & paste here.

    what is the structure of the vhs content on the dvd is it just one file

    the only person round here i think could help would be attar,however i'm not sure if he's done vhs ripping to dvd which only leaves videohelp.com as your best chance,either way i want to know what the solution is if you get it working

    edit: you do have codec pack installed either windows codec pack or klite ? yeah i know vlc won't play the audio however vlc ain't that great & it won't play numerous dvd's & vid files i have,it plays most however it stumbles every so often more so than klite or cyberlink
     
  7. goldenmeadow

    goldenmeadow Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks for all that info,

    the structure on the disc is 20 or so separate files I can click on



    the latest codecs might be a good idea.... not got a package for a while
    any chance of a link to a good codec package ?

    Here is the info for one of those files taken from vhs tape......

    General
    Complete name : D:\VIDEO_TS\VTS_06_1.VOB
    Format : MPEG-PS
    File size : 90.6 MiB
    Duration : 14s 423ms
    Overall bit rate mode : Variable
    Overall bit rate : 52.7 Mbps

    Video
    ID : 224 (0xE0)
    Format : MPEG Video
    Format version : Version 2
    Format profile : Main@Main
    Format settings, BVOP : Yes
    Format settings, Matrix : Custom
    Format settings, GOP : M=3, N=12
    Duration : 14s 311ms
    Bit rate mode : Variable
    Bit rate : 51.2 Mbps
    Maximum bit rate : 9 282 Kbps
    Width : 720 pixels
    Height : 576 pixels
    Display aspect ratio : 4:3
    Frame rate : 25.000 fps
    Standard : PAL
    Color space : YUV
    Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
    Bit depth : 8 bits
    Scan type : Interlaced
    Scan order : Top Field First
    Compression mode : Lossy
    Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 4.942
    Time code of first frame : 00:00:00:00
    Time code source : Group of pictures header
    Stream size : 87.5 MiB (97%)
    Color primaries : BT.601 PAL
    Transfer characteristics : BT.470 System B, BT.470 System G
    Matrix coefficients : BT.601

    Audio
    ID : 189 (0xBD)-128 (0x80)
    Format : AC-3
    Format/Info : Audio Coding 3
    Mode extension : CM (complete main)
    Format settings, Endianness : Big
    Muxing mode : DVD-Video
    Duration : 14s 423ms
    Bit rate mode : Constant
    Bit rate : 384 Kbps
    Channel(s) : 2 channels
    Channel positions : Front: L R
    Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
    Bit depth : 16 bits
    Compression mode : Lossy
    Delay relative to video : -80ms
    Stream size : 676 KiB (1%)
     
  8. scorpNZ

    scorpNZ Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,990
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Dam ! that video should have sound automatically play as the movie starts.. wtf ! well that's about all i can do,assuming video player has sound enabled & sound settings on the laptop are set up i'm f'kd if i know ..lol

    klite full aka media player classic.it will install the codecs you need including for wmp.if this player doesn't work your going to need more specialized help & the only place there is for that is videohelp.com.klite will install mediainfo so you can delete whatever version you have if it's installed as a standalone.once klite is installed aka mpc,try playing one or more of those movies
    http://www.codecguide.com/download_k-lite_codec_pack_full.htm


    You'll need to provide make & model of laptop & the specs of amount of ram,graphic card & cpu type if you copy & paste any reply's you've made over at vid help.
     
  9. goldenmeadow

    goldenmeadow Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanks for comments and link to codec pack

    you d think that with the dvd being finalized the vid clips would all be sorted for video and audio
    it seems strange that the media players on my desktop are playing the audio on some files
    and not playing the audio on other files ..... you d think everything would be uniform


    Anyway ... I ll go and install those codecs.... its my last hope !
     
  10. goldenmeadow

    goldenmeadow Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    installed the new codec pack ..... but no joy
    .... still no sound after trying with 4 media players

    ...... looks like Im stuffed !
     
  11. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,504
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Open one that has no audio with PgcDemux (select the ifo associated with the vob of the example you posted e.g VTS_01_0.IFO)
    Although MediaInfo is showing a trivial delay, click the A/V delay button to see if there is an unusual reading.
    If the reading agrees with MediaInfo, select an output location and demux the audio ('Process' button).
    Try playing the audio with VLC etc.
    http://www.videohelp.com/software/PgcDemux

    Clipboard01.
     
  12. goldenmeadow

    goldenmeadow Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    got the demux but its not seeing the file....

    not the basic vob from the dvd
    nor when I convert the vob to MPG file using DVD VOB 2MPG

    TRIED to drag an drop but a small window came up
    IFO FILE required

    TRIED putting .IFO on the end of the file but still no joy !
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2016
  13. goldenmeadow

    goldenmeadow Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  14. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,504
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Downloaded and played OK using VLC and MPC.
    The audio is stereo with one empty channel, but plays back without problems.
    PgcDemux is asking for the ifo file associated with the vob file.
    In this case for VTS_06_1.VOB it would be VTS_060.IFO.
     
  15. goldenmeadow

    goldenmeadow Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thats great ... you can play it but I cant !

    I dont use speakers with my lap top
    I feed the audi into the back of a small music centre and have only one speaker plugged
    into that
    when you said one sterio stream on the file ....... I thought that could be it
    I plugged the speaker into the other sterio outlet.......... but still no luck

    could my media players be at fault ?
     
  16. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,504
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    You said that recordings made OTA play ok so it's unlikely to be the player.
    Here is your audio (with the left channel duplicated to the previously empty right) plus an audio clip sample with the same bitrate (AC3 stereo).
    See if you can here them both.

    https://www.mediafire.com/?rf5a1jdj647tz6m
     
  17. goldenmeadow

    goldenmeadow Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    COULD only get sound on the titanic audio
     
  18. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,504
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
  19. goldenmeadow

    goldenmeadow Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Bingo...... excellent audio ... played it on BS Player
     
  20. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,504
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    I can't see anything special about the source audio.
    Try these two files, I just switched the left and right channels - see if either is audible.
    Recall I said that one of the channels has no audio.

    https://www.mediafire.com/?hzch971jom6u7b7
     

Share This Page