1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

War - DVDFab handles this movie fine

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by Grampaw, Jan 1, 2008.

  1. Grampaw

    Grampaw Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Heads up,

    Title "War" seems to be heavily protected - I went straight to DVDFab Platinum 4 to backup just the main movie (which fits on a DVD-5 blank). It looked like Ripit4me was was stalling out so I just canceled that approach.

    I'm sure other approaches will also work.
     
  2. saugmon

    saugmon Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,064
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    I had to enable anydvd and let little ole Dvd shrink rip and autoburn with nero.

    Dvd shrink alone will give this error:

    [​IMG]
     
  3. creaky

    creaky Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    31,683
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    edit- overlooked the fact that the original poster had actually backed this movie up fine with DVDFab..

    so..edited post to say that if any other DVDFab users have problems, see if the new Beta of DVDFab (4.0.3.5) helps... - http://club.cdfreaks.com/f116/dvdfab-4-0-3-5-beta-235260/
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2008
  4. ZoSoIV

    ZoSoIV Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    edit
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2008
  5. Mr_Pink

    Mr_Pink Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    As always, backed this up very easily, as listed in my signature. After blanking all the trash, the compression rate was about mid 70s.
     
  6. ZoSoIV

    ZoSoIV Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    hey guys i was wrong clonedvd 2 + anydvd has problems with this title. there are some bad cells at the beginning of the movie causing the backup not to playback correctly. it will playback but it takes several mins to get going so i used the beta version of dvdfab decrypter fixvts to clean the file dvd shirnk to transcode and then burned now it plays back perfect
     
  7. 700club

    700club Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Here is what really works. Rip it with dvdfab decrypter beta. Then re- author it in shrink and delete the very first second of the main movie and it will play perfectly. Otherwise the movie will not play.
     
  8. 700club

    700club Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Wanted to add I burned with Nero.
     
  9. 700club

    700club Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2008
  10. ZoSoIV

    ZoSoIV Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    700club, fixvts will correct the file
     
  11. 700club

    700club Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Good to know, thanks for the tip.
     
  12. garmoon

    garmoon Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4,841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    AnyDVD and NeroRecode had no problems backing up this movie. It also works with AnyDVD and shrink. Movie only is 100%-no compression. Looked mighty good on an upconvert Panasonic player on Sammy LCD 42" HD.
     
  13. ZoSoIV

    ZoSoIV Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    garmoon you didn't have any problems with the movie not playing right at the start of it? when i used clonedvd 2 + anydvd it took like 3 plus mins for the movie to start playing
     
  14. saugmon

    saugmon Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,064
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    On every reauthored movie I back up, I always remove the beginning and most of the ending credits.

    I got burned once on a columbia release in the past-where the trademark of lady liberty screwed up the backups. I've always cut out those beginning credits/trademarks ever since. I forgot to note that in my first post. My backup played perfectly.It was an awesome movie.

    BTW: I thought Jet Li retired after his last movie?
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2008
  15. garmoon

    garmoon Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4,841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    @ZoSo

    No, movie started fine. I have AnyDVD set to start the movie immediately when the disc is inserted so I don't have to use the menu functions and see all the other trash if it's left on the backup.

    Edit: Just tried it in my pc, starts just fine there also!
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2008
  16. ZoSoIV

    ZoSoIV Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    hummm weird it didn't work for me maybe it was my dvd player i will try it in a different one and see
     
  17. ptmd

    ptmd Guest

    thanx that worked, b4 shrink wouldn't compress past 99%
     
  18. garmoon

    garmoon Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    4,841
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    @ZoSo

    You got my curiosity peaked so I tried AnyDVD and CloneDVD2 left everything but 2-channel sound-60%compression. And BTW, who set up the term for %compression-should be movie was only 40%compressed. Played it in same panny dvd player-it started immediately and I skipped thru to the start menu and clicked play; and it also started to play at once. Somehow we have two differently DRMed movies. The files were burned to a Maxell-R (which my Benqs have almost no clue what they are since I never use -R) @8X maxell disc IDed as RitekF-1 X16. I know your pc will run circles around mine so I have no advantage there. Therefore the above explanation seems the only reason. One reason I got this movie was that it seemed to be causing problems; and when I didn't have any I was kind of disappointed, since nothing's been a challenge lately.

     
  19. mazster

    mazster Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Which file is it?
     
  20. mazster

    mazster Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16

Share This Page